Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by leahrae
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is a good recipe but my pie turned out runny and was way too sweet. I added 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda and baking powder to the topping. My favorite apple crisp recipe uses essentially the same topping and it helps to keep the crumble crisp but not rock hard. Next time I will cut the crumb topping in half and use half the sugar in the filling and add tapioca to the filling. I used fresh berries which does make a difference but I think fresh make the best pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Pie was excellent. I might just add a tblsp. of cornstarch next time to thicken the filling and maybe use just a little less sugar. But everyone raved about it. One problem, I used a single pie crust recipe that showed up with this blueberry crumb pie recipe and when I went back to look and print it out, it was no longer offered with the pie. I was very disappointed as it was the best pie crust I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have to admit I do not use a pie crust at all I have turned this into a blueberry crumble. I do have to add 2 T of cornstarch to thicken it a little. But it is so good with ice cream and I loose some carbs by not using the pie crust which I don't miss. I made it last week and shared it with some friends of mine and they liked it so much they brought me 5lbs of blue berries and ask if I would mind making more which I do not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Euphemia
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is delicious. I use organic pastry crust, organic rolled oats and organic flour. I use orange peel granules and I added organic almond extract. I use only 2/3 of the white sugar. I don't use any sugar in the top crumble as the oats and cinnamon don't require it. I also use more oats than it calls for and this time added some flax seed. It's scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphemia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was really looking forward to making this pie and, well, it wasn't horrible but it wasn't what I had hoped. To start with, you should not make this recipe without adding at least 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, as other reviews have stated. Why? Well because without this cornstarch you will have a watery, soggy mess of a filling. I wouldn't even go as far as to call it a filling. The inside was literally just the blueberries and their juice. So yes, cornstarch is a must! The topping, however, is an entirely different story. The oats provided a base to which the butter could stick and were a great ingredient to balance out all of the sugar. I am looking forward to trying this recipe again, this time with the cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Alberts
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is the best blueberry pie ever! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Alberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Yes, it's not going to cut pretty. But ooohhhh, it's delicious! Made it just as written, with fresh berries. FYI, the measurements for lemon zest and juice are about the zest of one whole lemon and the juice of half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was exceptional! I used fresh blueberries (almost 3 pints) and an oil-based pie crust. I might've used a bit less lemon juice and I added a splash of almond extract. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I love to bake...yes...real men can bake and feel comfortable with it. With a bountiful crop of blueberries this year, I started baking. When I came across this one I decided to give it a shot. ABSOLUTELY amazing! I didn't change a thing on my first attempt...it was perfect. Now that I know how good it is and how much my family raved over it...I might just put a twist on it here or there. TRY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is a good recipe if you make a couple changes. I don't care how much cornstarch or flour you add, if the pie doesn't bubble up before you take it out of the oven, you'll end up with soup like most people have said. I used fresh berries in a deeper dish so the topping wouldn't fall off. I used lemon juice and ommitted the zest cinnamon. I also used 3 T. cornstarch in place of the flour. My pie took 75 min cook, covered lightly with foil the last 30 min of bake time so not to get over browned. You have to see the juices coming out from under the the crumble topping, that's when you'll know it's come to a boil. You'll have a pie that tastes like cornstarch if you don't. Mine thickened up just perfectly. Very tasty served warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States