Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is my first blueberry pie, I liked it and boyfriend loved it. I used 2T cornstarch and it was still a runny, will put in fridge a few hours next time. Suggest reducing the total sugar about 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have been searching for just this recipe for years until it came to me again just 2 weeks ago and lo and behold, you can always rely on Allrecipes! I didn't need to change a thing although I will bake my pie crust for 10 minutes before, covering the rim with tinfoil the next time I make it as I found the crust was soggy from the blueberry juice (I used frozen berries). Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I, too, used only 4 cups of blueberries instead of 6 (I thought the filling would be overflowing) and omitted the lemon juice entirely, using only the zest. I added 3 T. cornstarch to thicken. Lovely pie with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
first time making blueberry pie! mine came out a bit runny. there was no way that i was going to get a pretty slice out of it. plated, it looked more like a crumble. delicious though! next time i'll add a tablespoon or two of cornstarch (depending on how plump my blueberries are) and omit the lemon juice. i think the zest adds enough lemon flavor. i think i may also cut it down to 4 cups of blueberries as i had about a cupful of filling that i couldn't cram into my pie crust. no worries though... i just took the extra filling, put it into ramekins with extra crumb topping and made individual blueberry crumbles! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This truly is THE BOMB! My first time making this receipe. I took others advice and added 2 TBL of cornstach and I would highly recommend that you do this. I didn't have any lemons to zest, but I"m not missing it. I did use the lemon juice though. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe and it's amazing. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Really good! I made the recipe as written and it turned out great. I've always had a problem with streusel topping but this one was perfect and turned out crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Oh WOW!! This pie is amazing! I used one frozen 12 oz bag of mixed berries and the remaining amount used fresh blueberries. Only used maybe one teaspoon of lemon zest. Also added more flour as others suggested. I didn't have rolled oats but I had a basic vanilla almond granola and used that in its place... Quite possibly the best berry pie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Made it without any changes, and it was perfect! We will definitely make this again - thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a top notch berry recipe! Great for entertaining, or a last-minute dessert for a nice, casual dinner at home. I don't normally review recipes that I have altered without trying the original version first, but this time I'll make an exception because I think I still kept it intact for the most part. I didn't have a pie crust, so I just prepared this for a 9-inch square casserole dish and the portions were right. Also, I did a combo of berries from what I had on hand in the freezer - half blueberries, quarter raspberries, and a quarter blackberries. You would never guess this only took 10 minutes to put together and was made from what I just happened to have on hand to throw together at the last minute. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States