Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Only changes I made was added 1T cornstarch to blueberry mixture and added chopped pecans to the topping. It was so easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was a lovely dessert. The lemon adds a bright note to the blueberries - one of my favorite flavor combinations. It was a little too runny, though, even after completely cooling. I would definitely make it again, but I would add a little more thickening agent next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This pie could be really good, but unfortunately I followed the recipe's instructions EXACTLY and ended up with a very strange pie. It says to mix the lemon zest and juice into the flour and sugar, but the moisture from the juice makes that mixture really clumpy. And then you add the blueberries, but the mixture does not get fully distributed among all the berries because there are just clumpy bits of flour and sugar. I thought it might melt and distribute in the oven, but it didn't... As he was eating it, my fiance asked if there was "lemon pudding or something in here"... which was the lemony clumpy parts. This pie definitely has potential, but I strongly advise not adding the ingredients in the listed order. I'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
OMG was this goooooooood! Sinc I'm diabetic, I substituted Splenda white granular and Splenda brown sugar blend for the white/brown sugars. Also added 1 cup raspberries along with 2 pts. of blueberries. You have to try this, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nolink
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great Recipe! I loved the sweet-tart flavors in it. I used fresh local blueberries. It was a little runny, but that did not detract from the excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was fantastic! I had to almost fight my relatives so I could get a serving myself :) I skipped the lemon zest accidentally, but had no complaints. Delicious and much "lighter" than the standard double crust/lattice blueberry pie. The crumble topping was just beautiful and really looked "creative".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
...this is the best pie. Ever. I added two tbl. of cornstarch to it just to make sure it thickened, and once it had cooled I put it in the fridge before serving it, since my family's a fan of zapping things in the microwave anyway. It's a good thing I have leftover blueberries, because the family completely demolished the thing inside of a half hour! Used the Butter Flaky Pie crust recipe for this one, turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I bought blueberries from a farm nearby, after I found this recipe. Of course, I made this right away, and this was Oooohhh.. sooooo... goood! I used 1/2 cup of sugar as suggested, and a tablespoon and a quarter of cornstarch. Next time, I will use more corn starch as it was a little runny. The only complaint I have that it fall apart when you pull the first slice out. If I bring this to a picnic, I may have to turn this into a cobbler. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was wonderful and easy to put together. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made this pie twice in the last week, and the fam devours it. I used fresh blueberries and added about 1 tbsp cornstarch as others have recommended. It is a little loose, but the flavor is so amazing who really cares?? I also didn't have any lemon so I omitted it, but the flavor is so fresh and bright with fresh blueberries that I don't think it really needed it anyway. My new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States