Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Good recipe, I did use butter instead of shorting, also for the crust I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and half regular. Everyone loved it. Make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious!! The only change I made was to substitute butter for the shortening. I bet it would be great with diced apples or blackberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Great Recipe! I substituted crisco butter flavored shortening also. It is also very adaptable to gluten-free. I used gluten-free flour and no one knew. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious and so easy! A great way to use all those berries from the farmer's market. I have made this type of cookie for years using jam instead of fresh fruit. I did use butter instead of shortening, as that's what I've used in the past. Whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Pretty good! These are pretty sweet. For the crust, I used half white and half brown sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and butter instead of shortening. Then I doubled the amount of cornstarch and that was the perfect amount to get the blueberries to set. I'm sure I will make this again and try a different kind of berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
these were really yummy! we have just TOO MANY blueberries and I think I've tried most all on this site. These were better the next day and the next....then they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very easy and delicious! I used strawberries and used half a cup of brown sugar instead of white for the berry mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Neubarth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very adaptable to fruit on hand. I had fresh strawberries and rhubarb so I measured 3 cups strawberries to 1 cup rhubarb for the fruit. I also used half cup shortening and half cup butter for extra flavor. Great recipe. Thanks@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Great use of summer berries. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar for the crust. I also used butter flavor crisco. I added the salt and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon. For the berries, I used 4 teaspoons of cornstarch. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk. Yummy bars and not too sweet. Will def make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yummy!! I totally loved these! Used frozen berries, added twice the amount of cornstarch, added half a teaspoon of ground vanilla bean and substituted some of the flour with oats. The cooking time were perfect, even with frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States