Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Great bar! I added lemon zest, 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1/2 brown & 1/2 white sugar, and 2-tsp vanilla to the crust/crumb mixture, and also used butter (ew, Shortening!). I also baked my crust for 7-min before putting the blueberries & crumb top on. And I added 2 tbsp lemon juice and to the blueberries mixture. Soooo good!! Lemon flavor pairs beautifully!! Not too sweet, good for breakfast. I would probably add another 1/2 cup of white sugar to the berries if I wanted more of a dessert. Will most definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Good base. Like others, I used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar and butter rather than shortening in the crumble. I used a mix of raspberries, blueberries, and apple for the filling. I've made this with just blueberries in the past but prefer a mix of fruits for a more complex flavour. I used freshly grated nutmeg rather than cinnamon. Some have commented that the crust doesn't 'come together'. I don't think it's supposed to. I just pour half to two-thirds of it in the pan and pat it down. The rest I shake over the top. I find the powderiness of the crumble makes it easy to work with in this way and it creates a firm base when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Used fresh blueberries as called for, half white sugar and half brown and butter instead of shortening. Turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Really good bars! I used butter instead of shortening as others have suggested. I used frozen berries that I defrosted & drained (a LOT of liquid came off so I'm glad I did defrost them first). Baked for almost an hour. I did shake a little cinnamon & grated some nutmeg on top. Wish I'd read the reviews first, I would have added some almond extract as someone noted, bet that's a great addition. Also, I wonder if a little oatmeal would be a nice addition to the crust/topping (sub for maybe 1/2 c of the flour?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe!!! Not too sweet but delicious! I did take the suggestion of others and used butter instead of shortening. Also, I live in Maine so we had picked 10lbs of fresh blueberries, I used 5 cups I stead of 4 (covered the bottom of the pan). These were delicious and didn't last long at all. I will be trying them using a sugar substitute and then later on some frozen blueberries (as I have frozen some of the blueberries from our last trip). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Such a great and versatile recipe! I used all whole wheat flour, and for the shortening I used half butter and half applesauce. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
These were wonderful. I prefer these to a pie because the amount of blueberries is perfect. Of course, the amount could be adjusted to taste. Fresh blueberries give it a slightly tart flavor, which I love. I used half shortening and half butter and the result was crispy and gave it texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made exactly as written. Just fine. Will try at some point with butter and maybe some sliced almonds on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Loved it! Great recipe. I make it all the time for my family and it's gone in the same day. So easy to make- you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh these are yummy goodness! I subbed half of the white sugar with brown sugar as mentioned in one of the reviews. Fantastic! Even had a college kid ask if he could take more home with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States