Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I pretty much agree with all of my fellow cooks here when they say that using butter really makes a BIG difference! I made them first with shortening(I hate using shortening, but thought that if I didn't it might be one of those recipes where you shouldn't substitute). They were alright. The next time I used butter and they were quite tasty. I used fresh blueberries, but will use wild blueberries this summer. I think that the tartness of the wild berries would be quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made a batch of these for a BBQ this weekend, and they were a huge it! I made with gluten-free flour, and everyone still raved about them! Next time, I'll adjust the crumble ratio to 2/3 crust, 1/3 topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Made this recipe and it was really good. I used half blueberries and half frozen cranberries and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Partial review (in the oven still :D): This is a very different recipe than the usual half in the pan, half on top. I was uneasy about "halving" with an egg, but I did - as weird as it was. I added 1/2t salt & cinnamon to the flour mixture; oh, an extra t cornstarch because the berries are very juicy. The flour part is quite dry. Baking at 375 in glass. It's competitor is Blueberry Boy Bait (in metal). We'll see ... Results: Pretty bland & ho-hum. (Yes, those are different in my book :D) 'Looked much better than it tasted. :( No repeats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susie
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Saw this in the "All Recipes Magazine." Made just as recipe was written and they were awesome! Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is soo good! Used butter instead of shortening and 2 cups of raspberries with 2 cups of blueberries. I sprinkled some sugar on the top for crunch and took the advice of previous reviews for more cornstarch. Gooey and perfect! amazing way to enjoy a dessert with some healthy fruits :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
You can't get much better or easier! These were pretty perfect as written...I used butter flavored Crisco and 1/2 sugar, 1/2 brown sugar in the crust. I really can't think of anything that would make these better--my family isn't much into fancy deserts with subtle flavors--these no frills bars are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
These were SOO easy to assemble taste fantastic. I would try making them with any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Substituted butter for shortening, and used all brown sugar for the base. Used a food processor to cut in the butter. Chopped frozen peaches for the fruit layer so it took longer to bake. Didn't adjust anything else except that it baked in a 12 x 8 pan so the base was a bit thicker. Next time would possibly add a handful of coconut to the crumb topping, or try chopped apples and more cinnamon. Kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Partner, kids & I have just been blueberry picking, so needed something yummy to make. Only changes I made, was to add the rind of an orange to the crumb mix and used 2 1/2 cups of flour & 1/2cup of rolled oats instead of 3 cups of flour, making it feel healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States