Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I love to bake, therefore bake all the birthday treats at the office. I planned to make an angel food cake which turned into a disaster! Well I used the ingredient search to find something to make with what I had on hand and this came up. I cut everything in half and baked in an 8x8 pan. Absolutely amazing! I used shortening as stated and did half white sugar and half brown sugar. My blueberries were frozen (but they were fresh ones I bought and froze, not the storebought bag of frozen) and I didn't wait for them to thaw. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've been making this dessert for years and my family loves it. This spring, I had tons of rhubarb, so tried it in this recipe with a few adjustments. Delicious! We like it maybe even better than before. I used 3 cups of small diced rhubarb and nearly 2 cups blueberries (frozen). I added an additional tsp of cornstarch and an additional 1/4 cup of sugar to the fruit mix. I also baked it 5 mins longer than usual. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I liked these bars. I did what the reviewers mentioned - used 1/2 white & 1/2 brown sugar. I put about 1 tsp of Cinnamon & added vanilla. Very easy - I prebaked the crust for 5 minutes before putting in blueberries! Might not do that again. Even my husband who doesn't love blueberries (to put it nicely) liked the bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quirkzilla
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was delicious! Following the advice of other reviewers, I substituted the shortening with butter. I did add the optional cinnamon and salt and I think that the pinch of cinnamon adds just the right amount of flavor to the crust. It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quirkzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars based on the fact that the bars turned out. I followed the recipe with the exception of using half brown sugar and half white. Perhaps I would've liked them more had I used butter, but I didn't have any softened. I might try the recipe again if I have blueberries on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was REALLY simple to make - and it turned out delicious even though I didn't follow it to a tee! I used all brown sugar for the crust, added some lemon juice and actually ended up using an 8x12 and a 8x8 because I had so much extra! TIP: let cool on wire racks, and then refrigerate over night - makes cutting up pieces SO easy and they don't crumble at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaaatieo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I picked a ton of fresh blueberries. This was a perfect use for them. Brought it for a pot luck and people couldn't believe how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Turned out nice with a subtle flavor. I used fresh cherries (had on hand), and added a tsp of vanilla to the crumb mixture. To make it healthier I substituted with 1 cup of whole wheat flour in the crumb mix, and sprinkled some ground slow oats on top as well. The squares held together very well when cooled. If I could only find fresh "sour" cherries, I think this would really boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Just made this and it's so much better than I had expected! I followed the recipe exactly. Butter flavored shortening. Frozen blueberries. Added spices that I like, clove and cinnamon (til flour speckled slightly), to the crust, as well as vanilla w/ the egg. I didn't cook it long enough apparently so it went back in the oven to get a deeper browning (like original photo or use foil) I was worried about using the entire other half on top as I wanted more fruit than dough and some color, but the juices colored the top beautifully!! I think the berries being frozen helped maybe. Started off with my hand pastry blender but both me and my assistant (2 year old son) got bored/tired so it got thrown in the mixer. voila. SN: made these the day before a road trip so once they cooled I put them in an airtight plastic container and by the morning of our trip they were moist with a nice center and just perfect! Definitely will make these for snacks on a trip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made with fresh strawberries for my son's graduation (his fav fruit) and it turned out fantastic. I used 7 cups of fresh berries from my garden and baked 55 minutes. I forgot the egg-no problem. I used butter, half brown & half white sugar-same for flour. I also used most of the crumb mixture for the crust and then made a crumb/pecan/oatmeal crumb topping for on top. Very excellent. I also didn't add the 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch to my berries-didn't need to--they set up beautifully. Leftovers are eaten for breakfast with a little warm milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States