Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and they tasted pretty good... i followed other reviewers advice and used half brown sugar in the crust and crumbles... turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was one of the best desserts I've ever made! I served it at a dinner party, sort of like a cobbler. The cinnamon I think gives it a distinct taste. I also highly recommend that you serve this with vanilla ice cream to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishukitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Lower carb version: I made a pan today using 1/2 c. sugar and 1/2 c. Splenda in the bar portion and it was very good. I did use sugar only with the fruit, but cut the amount down to 1/4 cup with success. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These were really easy to make and quite yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is my "GO TO" summer dessert in blueberry season! I have made it 6 times in the last 3 weeks and it goes over so well. I usually do the 1/2 cup white and the 1/2 cup LIGHT brown sugar (not dark, it does make a difference) and don't skip the cinnamon. I usually cook 40 minutes only, just until it is slightly browned on top. Great warm, cooled, dessert or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I love to bake, therefore bake all the birthday treats at the office. I planned to make an angel food cake which turned into a disaster! Well I used the ingredient search to find something to make with what I had on hand and this came up. I cut everything in half and baked in an 8x8 pan. Absolutely amazing! I used shortening as stated and did half white sugar and half brown sugar. My blueberries were frozen (but they were fresh ones I bought and froze, not the storebought bag of frozen) and I didn't wait for them to thaw. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've been making this dessert for years and my family loves it. This spring, I had tons of rhubarb, so tried it in this recipe with a few adjustments. Delicious! We like it maybe even better than before. I used 3 cups of small diced rhubarb and nearly 2 cups blueberries (frozen). I added an additional tsp of cornstarch and an additional 1/4 cup of sugar to the fruit mix. I also baked it 5 mins longer than usual. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I liked these bars. I did what the reviewers mentioned - used 1/2 white & 1/2 brown sugar. I put about 1 tsp of Cinnamon & added vanilla. Very easy - I prebaked the crust for 5 minutes before putting in blueberries! Might not do that again. Even my husband who doesn't love blueberries (to put it nicely) liked the bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quirkzilla
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was delicious! Following the advice of other reviewers, I substituted the shortening with butter. I did add the optional cinnamon and salt and I think that the pinch of cinnamon adds just the right amount of flavor to the crust. It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quirkzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars based on the fact that the bars turned out. I followed the recipe with the exception of using half brown sugar and half white. Perhaps I would've liked them more had I used butter, but I didn't have any softened. I might try the recipe again if I have blueberries on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States