Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I did not make any changes to recipe! Its a nice change instead of making cobbler. I like the fact that this is not overly sweet! It reminds me of pie! I will definitely make again! Cant wait to try it with peaches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made as written, baked the bottom crust for 5 mins first, and added an extra tsp of cornstarch to blueberries. GREAT and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I pretty much agree with all of my fellow cooks here when they say that using butter really makes a BIG difference! I made them first with shortening(I hate using shortening, but thought that if I didn't it might be one of those recipes where you shouldn't substitute). They were alright. The next time I used butter and they were quite tasty. I used fresh blueberries, but will use wild blueberries this summer. I think that the tartness of the wild berries would be quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made a batch of these for a BBQ this weekend, and they were a huge it! I made with gluten-free flour, and everyone still raved about them! Next time, I'll adjust the crumble ratio to 2/3 crust, 1/3 topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Made this recipe and it was really good. I used half blueberries and half frozen cranberries and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Partial review (in the oven still :D): This is a very different recipe than the usual half in the pan, half on top. I was uneasy about "halving" with an egg, but I did - as weird as it was. I added 1/2t salt & cinnamon to the flour mixture; oh, an extra t cornstarch because the berries are very juicy. The flour part is quite dry. Baking at 375 in glass. It's competitor is Blueberry Boy Bait (in metal). We'll see ... Results: Pretty bland & ho-hum. (Yes, those are different in my book :D) 'Looked much better than it tasted. :( No repeats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susie
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Saw this in the "All Recipes Magazine." Made just as recipe was written and they were awesome! Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is soo good! Used butter instead of shortening and 2 cups of raspberries with 2 cups of blueberries. I sprinkled some sugar on the top for crunch and took the advice of previous reviews for more cornstarch. Gooey and perfect! amazing way to enjoy a dessert with some healthy fruits :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
You can't get much better or easier! These were pretty perfect as written...I used butter flavored Crisco and 1/2 sugar, 1/2 brown sugar in the crust. I really can't think of anything that would make these better--my family isn't much into fancy deserts with subtle flavors--these no frills bars are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
These were SOO easy to assemble taste fantastic. I would try making them with any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States