Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe that is tasty and VERY easy to make.I've made this twice now and both times the bars came out perfect. As others have stated, I substituted butter for the shortening, used 1/2 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar, added 1tsp of vanilla, and 1tsp of cinnamon to the crumble.The result is a very flavourful crust Oh and this time I used 2 C blue berries and 3 C frozen sliced strawberries and the result is just as perfect, so don't be afraid to experiment a little.If you do add the strawberries just add 1/4 C more sugar to the fruits to balance out the extra tartness of the strawberries . Overall this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I did the half brown-sugar half regular and it was delicious. My husband said it was the "yummiest thing" I've ever made and said he could have eaten the whole thing and then taken he day off of work because he'd be recovering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ttaylor1998
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I used Coconut Oil instead of shortening and also added sliced almonds. It was a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttaylor1998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have to say I was disappointed in how these turned out . . . especially considering all of the glowing reviews! The base was too flour-y for me, and a bit on the bland side. The filling was good but the topping was too flour-y in taste as well. I think adding oats or something would break up the texture a bit? Not sure but I just didn't have the same great results that others did. May try again as it is a great idea for all the summer blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Subbed butter for shortening and they were delicious! I have also made these with strawberries and a little extra cornstarch too. Fantastic either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
made with frozen strawberry slices, and they were fantastic. pretty forgiving recipe, too--you can do a lot of things to it and it turns out great. i did not use enough strawberries for my liking, next time i will do a generous two layers of slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
easy to make, delicious. everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was AMAZING. It tastes just like my mothers blueberry buckle, but with more blueberry goodness. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and: (a) replaced 1c white sugar in crust with 1/2 c light brown sugar + 1/2 c white sugar. (b) added 1 tsp cinnamon to crust (instead of a pinch). (c) added the optional salt (d) added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg (e) added 1 tsp lemon juice to the sugar, cornstarch, and blueberry mixture (f) added one extra tsp cornstarch Definitely worth a try! I'm about to head out to buy more blueberries to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and they tasted pretty good... i followed other reviewers advice and used half brown sugar in the crust and crumbles... turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was one of the best desserts I've ever made! I served it at a dinner party, sort of like a cobbler. The cinnamon I think gives it a distinct taste. I also highly recommend that you serve this with vanilla ice cream to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishukitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States