Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Glad I read the reviews first because I used butter for the shortening and it made a great crust. Used half white sugar and half brown sugar in the crust and bumped up the cinnamon. Also used 4 teaspoons of cornstarch but it was too much so I should have stuck with 3. A little more sugar in the blueberries would have helped too. It sliced into bars well and kept well for a couple of days in the refrigerator. Guests seemed to like them so I definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have been making these for a year now and have always used frozen fruit. I have used blueberries, strawberries, mixed berries, cherries and i also made a mango pineapple with shredded coconut. They are all do die for. I started making them because they are dairy free and i have alot of friends and family who cannot have any kind of dairy. Also i have made them with sweet and low for a sugar free version. I am always asked to make these they are a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I make these all the time love them ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackey P
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
These were easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipe is perfect. The only alteration I made was I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I was a little worried on how tart the bars would be because of how many blueberries the recipe called for but that wasn't a problem at all! I substituted the shortening with butter as well as the 1 C. White sugar with 1/2 dark brown and 1/2 white. I made a 9x13 inch pan batch and it was gone in less than 24 hours! Definitely recommend & will be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wow! This was great! I followed others' advice and used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup light brown sugar along with salted butter and 1 teaspoon cinnamon for the crust. I mixed up half the dough in the food processor, which gave it a cookie dough consistency -perfect for spreading in the bottom of the pan for the crust. I used an extra cup of frozen berries, although next time I think I'd double the berries. I still used only 1/2 cup white sugar for the berries, but doubled the cornstarch to 2 Tablespoons. The crumb topping I assembled by cutting the butter in with a pastry harp. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Jack and I liked these very much. Since it was just the two of us, I halved all the ingredients and used my 8x8 inch pan...I even used only half an egg (although I don't know that was necessary). Baking time was about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious and SO easy to make! I make these all the time, use different types of berries, apple cinnamon were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have made this recipe many times and the neighbors have even asked me to make it for them however most of the time i dbl the blueberries and make it into a dish to top with whip crm or ice crm both ways are very popular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States