Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My only problem with this recipe is that the dough tasted slightly floury. I forgot to mix in the sugar with the blueberries, and I am glad, because my didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bregou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
With fresh blueberries - Delish! I used softened butter and had no problem forming a crumbled crust, which was somewhat crusty when first baked to lightly browned (45 min. at 350). Although I opted for the dash of salt and cinnamon, it was not even perceptible at 1/8 ("Pinch") tsp. I had use. Next time I would at least double that amount. The berry filling, however, came out perfect - an once the berries had been cleaned and washed, the recipe took hardly any time to prep. Thank you A. Beavers - This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Very good recipe. I did miss having oats in the crust like a 'crisp' has. It was quick and easy to make and it tastes good. I will make it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Made this recipe and it was wonderful. I didn't want to share. I added a little more vanilla than it called for and instead of a pastry blender I used my mixer with the whisk attachment and it was perfect. I think I'll try other fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MadC
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Oh. My. Gosh. This is absolutely my favorite blueberry recipe. I've made it so many times and it is always sugary, blueberry-y (? lol), and delicious. Served warm with some vanilla bean ice cream on top? One of the greatest things in the world. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is a simple and fast desert to make. I used frozen blueberries without thawing them and it worked great. A little sweet so one could cut back on the sugar if they wanted to. I added some oats to the topping to give it a little more texture. I also used more cinnamon than a pinch. I am thinking nutmeg would be better. Next time I am adding lemon zest to the blueberries and pecans to the topping. That should improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
My kids and husband have been bugging me to make a dessert, so I made this finally! I didn't try it myself (I eat only Paleo) but they all gave it 5 stars for sure :) I was short on blueberries so I did half strawberries as well. Seemed to work out great! Also followed some of the reviews and I did half shortening and half butter for more flavor in the crust. Nice recipe, well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I got this recipe from the AR magazine. I like trying the magazine recipes because I know the AR test kitchen has made them. While the blueberry filling was good, the crust was bland. I would not make this again as written. Maybe with butter, or oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaby
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Loved this recipe! Made a few changes, used butter instead of shortening, used lemon zest from one small lemon, and added a tsp of vanilla extract. The lemon goes perfectly with the blueberry! I made this yesterday and today it's all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Great starter recipe! Following the other reviews, I also subbed butter for the shortening. I also used sweet cherries in place of the blueberries, which worked well. To go with the cherries, I added a dash of clove to the dry ingredients and mixed in 1 teaspoon of almond extract with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States