Blueberry Cream Slushy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
this was more of a smoothie but its good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawaii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
yummy. I'd make it again. I used an actual smoothie maker, used plain yogurt and added vanilla, because that's what I had, and mixed oj and pineapple juice from a can of pineapples, again it was on hand. I wonder if I had the true ingredients it could have gotten a 5 star...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dukeyummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
One of the things I love about smoothies is the way you can slightly alter the ingredients to use what you have on hand. Instead of all vanilla yogurt, I used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 strawberry (what was left from another smoothie) and all orange juice instead of the oj/pineapple blend. I omitted the sugar because it was plenty sweet for me. This has a beautiful color and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
We really liked this one! Followed exactly but used a Mango/OJ blend from Simply Orange which is some of the best OJ out there. Also used Greek Vanilla Fat-free yogurt. This smoothie tastes like one you would pay $5 for -- terrific flavor, color too. As far as those who complained about "grit" from the berries, that's part of the homemade freshness (and charm) and my 5 and 2 year olds who are as picky as anyone loved it. This is a winner. Thanks GOLDILOCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I loved this! I didn't use the orange pineapple juice blend and insted of yogurt I used cream. I pretty much make smoothis like this so I was so happy when I found it. :) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Let me start by saying I didn't think I would like this very much because blueberries are not my favorite. But, I was looking for a healthy smoothie to make for breakfast and strawberries and blue berries were all I had on hand. I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used regular orange juice, strawberry yogurt, no ice, and I replaced the sugar with honey. SO good!! I was seriously tempted to make another! It was nice and thick, but not as thick as some reviews said theirs were. Probably because I didn't use ice. Nothing was overpowering. Perfect amount of everything. SO SO good and so healthy!! Easy and quick for breakfast. This is my new breakfast smoothie! UPDATE: I have made this a few more times now. I was in the middle of making it once, and I realized someone drank all the orange juice I had, and soi used milk instead, and I didn't like it as much. It probably would've been better if I added more fruit. The milk was overpowering to me. I've also used a cup of frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries) and followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it was very good as well, but the original recipe is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Not too impressed with these. They were tart and too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It's good but need to use less orange/pineapple juice. Just made it and I taste mostly the citrus juices and not the berries at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! I love the combination of strawberries and blueberries. I used fat free vanilla yogurt, cut the sugar in half as well as the amount of ice. I garnished it with a couple of frozen blueberries and a little whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good, very cold and VERY thick. Hubs enjoyed it - he said it was pleasantly tart (I forgot the sugar...) but thought that perhaps it might be better without the ice cubes, which he believed diluted the flavor a little. Once I realized I had forgotten the sugar I asked him if he wanted me to add some and he didn't, so apparently the sugar isn't really necessary for this to taste good. It looks really cool when you pour it into the glass because it's so thick it kind of piles on the top, like a thick malt! Pineapple-orange juice was not on hand, but orange juice was, so that's what I used. This is an excellent way to get your calcium (and the active cultures) and vitamins - when I make these for Hubs I feel like I've done something good and healthy for him for breakfast that he probably woudn't do on his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States