Blueberry Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I thought these cake-y muffins were pretty good. I made them as directed, except added more blueberries, doubled the vanilla, and sprinkled the top with a touch of turbinado sugar. I found them to be very moist and quite sweet. I am glad that I didn't add any spices because the simple flavor of the berries was very pleasant. I couldn't try one until the second day, so I don't know how they tasted right out of the oven. They rose beautifully, I am sure due to the mixing method. I filled the muffin cups to the very top and found them to be the perfect size. I do agree that they resemble muffins made from a mix, except these are made with natural ingredients and the fresh berries make a big difference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Good recipe. Was able to reduce it with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Wow, these are excellent muffins. Followed recipe as directed, but halved it to make 12 muffins. Didn't have enough fresh blueberries so I used drained canned blueberries to make up the difference. The fresh blueberries really pop. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe was great, but like the others said, 1 cup of sour cream is perfect. I tried 3 cups of blueberries and while I love blueberries, it made my muffins soggy. Sadly, my family wasn't crazy about them, because of all the blueberries. Also, mine needed another 5 minutes to bake, because the middles were not done. I experimented and noticed that if I baked them in the back of the oven, they got a nicer brown tone and looked like they rose higher, even with the extra 5 minutes. I think baking powder would get better, higher rising results than baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I too tried to make this a bit healthier. Used applesauce instead of oil, Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and substituted out 2 cups flour for one cup flax seed meal and one cup oat flour. Kept everything else the same. They came out great. Very filling, moist and tasty. Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katileena
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as listed but just halfed it. These turned out perfect and delicious. Baked for 22 minutes. Half recipe made 15 large standard muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katileena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I was craving some fresh-baked blueberry muffins on this snowy Saturday morning. I had the fresh blueberries, but I needed to make some emergency substitutions because I didn't feel like cleaning off the car. I also halved the recipe. I was out of vegetable oil, so I used coconut oil. No sour cream, so I used plain yogurt that was already open (strained through a coffee filter to remove some of the liquid for about 15 minutes). I was still short 1/3 cup, so I topped it up with mayonnaise. They tasted great! I can imagine they would be divine with the actual ingredients. Now I have to clean off the car and go grocery shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I am very glad I read reviews and chose to add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar. The muffins were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Qzen
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Halved the recipe to make just a dozen, no changes and they came out perfectly. Golden, light, tender, lots of berries and not too sweet. YUM! An easy recipe to make, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I used half sugar and half Splenda and added more blueberries just because I like extra blueberries. This recipe is great just the way it is however. I also made three pans of the mini muffins and then had enough leftover to pour the rest in a bundt pan and make a blueberry cake. Otherwise it would have been way too many muffins for just the two of us. If your blueberries aren't very sweet, you will probably want to add a little extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States