Blueberry Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Nice muffin recipe and easy to customize if you don't have all the ingredients; yogurt for sour cream (I used vanilla yogurt which made them much sweeter, I don't like it but the family does, I think plain yogurt would have been a better substition), part whole wheat for all purpose flour, part brown sugar for white. I had blueberries, but in the summer we have blackberries and I bet these would be even better with blackberries. I think the other reviewers idea of sprinkling these with streusal is nice, I was low on butter, so I sprinkled them with lemon sugar for crunch sweet top. The cooking time was a little different, my muffins were done in 22 minutes (in a tin without liners so that the muffins get that tiny bit of golden crispiness on the bottoms) and they puffed up and over the muffin tin prettily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by HardtnerHealth
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent. I made one change. Instead of the sour cream I used Greek yogurt. I find myself subbing that anytime a recipe calls for sour cream nowadays! They were still nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made these muffins this morning for Bible Study at church. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. Before I made these I looked at the reviews. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar. I only had 3/4 cup of vegetable oil so I used that amount. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to the dry ingredients as well as the topping. I used 2 cups of regular sour cream. I was wondering whether the brown sugar was packed and saw a review saying loose so I'm glad I read more than a few comments. I put in 3 cups of frozen blueberries. Also on someone's suggestion I used 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and a full tablespoon of vanilla. I used the crumb topping. I filled one pan just right and the second a little too much. No problem except one pan baked in 20 minutes and the other took 30 minutes. Instead of 24 I probably should have got 28 medium muffins. I followed the direction for mixing. I definitely will be making these for our church bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TEACHINCOLLEGE
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
First, this recipe makes A LOT of batter. I made 12 full-size muffins (bake 20 min), 24 mini-muffins (bake 15 min), and put the remaining batter in a 9x4 loaf pan (bake at 350 for 60 min). I also made a few adjustments since I was snowed in and didn't have the exact ingredients listed. 5 eggs, half & half instead of sour cream, butter instead of vegetable oil. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHINCOLLEGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Best blueberry muffins! Easy and delicious. I used frozen berries and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
made these with my own fresh picked blueberries, they are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Neilson Wuesthoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Not sure what the sour cream did for the muffins, but I didn't get anything remarkable from these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made these and took them to work. People loved them! Best blueberry muffin recipe ever! I did use 3 cups of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Must try recipe!! Added extra blueberries though. Do not over mix batter or you'll rate this recipe no star. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Tyvm for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These muffins are super bland. Not only that, but the sour cream flavor comes through. Definitely not what you're expecting in a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Tamayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States