Blueberry Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
VERY GOOD, MOIST CAKE. SUBSTITUTED LEMON CAKE MIX JUST BECAUSE I LIKE THAT FLAVOR COMBINATION. FOR EXTRA BLUEBERRY FLAVOR, NEXT TIME I'LL SUB SOME OF THE BLUEBERRY JUICE FOR THE WATER IN THE CAKE BATTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very good, very moist. Even my husband liked it and he doesn't like anything with cream cheese in it or anything that isn't chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
The title of this cake makes it sound ridiculously hard. It wasn't though; don't let this intimidate you. My cake didn't turn out as beautiful as the picture :( probably because I didn't have a bundt pan. SO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ONE! The very center of my cake wasn't baked that well; if it was a bundt pan it would have come out perfect. I really thought I would taste some cream cheese in the cake; but I barely did, which dissapointed me because I'm a cream cheese fan. After tasting the mixture, it was so sweet. Too sweet, if I may add. To lessen the sweetness and make it a bit more sour, I added some of the juice from the blueberry can and mixed it. Before adding the icing, I thought the cake would be kind of boring if it was all by itself + icing. So finally I decided to cut the cake RIGHT in the middle and add my own cream in there. I mixed sour cream with sugar (an old Russian tradition) and placed in the center. I put both sides together and it looked like a huge blueberry cookie! After, I added the icing; it turned out purple. The purple kind of intimidated people; purple icing on a cookie-like cake? Very strange. At the gathering, people were hesitant to try it, but everyone loved it! It was very sweet and moist, like someone said before. To conclude this review, if you're looking for a little more in this cake, I suggest the Russian creme (sour cream + sugar). This will definetly spice things up ! Hope this long review was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Delicious and easy! I used fresh frozen bluberries that my family had picked and this dessert was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This was a hit with everyone at the office. It was so moist and tastey. At least 3 different people have already asked me for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5 stars isn't enough. AMAZING. Moist, tender, tasty. I made with the exact recipe ingredients, but I didn't mix in the blueberries. Instead I coated them with flour and then spread them evenly in the middle layer, along with the cinnamon and sugar. Topped with rest of blueberries not put in middle layer and then sort of pushed them into the batter with a knife. Then topped with rest of cinnamon and sugar mix. The whole family LOVED this. I'm a cake decorator, and I have picky eaters who are used to eating the best, most moist cakes, and they LOVED this!! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was a very good cake. I am in the midst of opening a bakery and this will definitely be on the menu. Very moist - not too sweet. I did find that I prefer the cake without the galze but that is just my preference...either way it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gaston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Moist and delicious! I would highly recommend making this at least one day, if not two, ahead of time. Pound cakes get better each day, and by day two this cake was so delicious! I made a thinner glaze and served the extra glaze in a small bowl alongside the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Great recipe...Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
It was delicious. I used a blueberry whipped cream cheese frosting instead. Very very sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States