Blueberry Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I've made this for years! I use a butter golden cake mix. But the French vanilla sounds really good! I've also use mini loaf pans to use for gift giving. Freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good, my husband thought it tasted like Costco blueberry muffins. Will try some of the other reviewers tips to tone down the flavor of the yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made these into mini muffins. They were easy and good. Not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I loved this cake. Just as is and with my own tweaks. I used white cake mix as it tastes the least like boxed. I added an extra egg yolk,3/4 C flour,1/2 C of sugar,1 C skim milk,2 tsp vanilla,1/2 stick very soft butter and 1/3 C oil. Mixed dry ingredients. Beat cream cheese,butter and sugar. Added eggs one at a time. Added oil and vanilla. Added dry ingredients alternately with milk and vanilla. Greased and sugared pan. Layered blueberries as suggested. As everyones oven bake as needed till done. Perfect cake. Thank you prissycat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
While you really can taste the cake mix its not too bad. I think it could use more berries ( I used 2 cups frozen )and a little cinnamon helped too. Overall pretty good had a nice crisp crust the first day. Be warned it really is a thick sticky batter. Hard to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very easy to bake this pound cake! I bought French vanilla cake mix, it was perfect! As if I made this from scratch...! lol I had to bake mine for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I rarely use cake mixes doctored or otherwise but this one is actually very very good. My family devoured it. I did substitute French Vanilla cake mix for the other suggested and also, as I usually do, used 1/2 butter. Am sure it is just as good as written but am used to using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Fabulous - plus it's so simple to make! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very moist and bursting with blueberries - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! I did opt to use 1/2 cup of melted butter and a couple of Tbsp. of oil. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did! It baked perfectly in no time at all. Once it was cooled I dusted it with a bit of powdered sugar. Since everyone liked this so much I decided to make another one and changed it up a bit by adding the juice of one lemon, 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract and 2 Tbsp. of lemon zest to heighten the lemon flavor. I can't wait to try this with other fruit combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this as a bottom layer to my three tier wedding cake. It consisted of French vanilla cake on top and a blueberry cream cheese filling and this cake on bottom all covered with a creamy white frosting. I didn't even get a piece to take home everyone loved it and I have been asked to make it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States