Blueberry Cream Cheese Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made these into mini muffins. They were easy and good. Not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I loved this cake. Just as is and with my own tweaks. I used white cake mix as it tastes the least like boxed. I added an extra egg yolk,3/4 C flour,1/2 C of sugar,1 C skim milk,2 tsp vanilla,1/2 stick very soft butter and 1/3 C oil. Mixed dry ingredients. Beat cream cheese,butter and sugar. Added eggs one at a time. Added oil and vanilla. Added dry ingredients alternately with milk and vanilla. Greased and sugared pan. Layered blueberries as suggested. As everyones oven bake as needed till done. Perfect cake. Thank you prissycat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
While you really can taste the cake mix its not too bad. I think it could use more berries ( I used 2 cups frozen )and a little cinnamon helped too. Overall pretty good had a nice crisp crust the first day. Be warned it really is a thick sticky batter. Hard to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very easy to bake this pound cake! I bought French vanilla cake mix, it was perfect! As if I made this from scratch...! lol I had to bake mine for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I rarely use cake mixes doctored or otherwise but this one is actually very very good. My family devoured it. I did substitute French Vanilla cake mix for the other suggested and also, as I usually do, used 1/2 butter. Am sure it is just as good as written but am used to using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Fabulous - plus it's so simple to make! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very moist and bursting with blueberries - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! I did opt to use 1/2 cup of melted butter and a couple of Tbsp. of oil. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did! It baked perfectly in no time at all. Once it was cooled I dusted it with a bit of powdered sugar. Since everyone liked this so much I decided to make another one and changed it up a bit by adding the juice of one lemon, 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract and 2 Tbsp. of lemon zest to heighten the lemon flavor. I can't wait to try this with other fruit combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this as a bottom layer to my three tier wedding cake. It consisted of French vanilla cake on top and a blueberry cream cheese filling and this cake on bottom all covered with a creamy white frosting. I didn't even get a piece to take home everyone loved it and I have been asked to make it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and it is a hit every time! I use the french vanilla cake mix and add extra berries. I never have a problem with the berries going to the bottom - they mix in perfectly. Last time I made it, I used FF cream chees - could not tell the difference. Watch the cooking time - you do not want to overbake this - I usually pull it out when moist crumbs are sticking to the toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I subbed in white cake for yellow cake and applesauce for oil. It turned out great - nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States