Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I adapted the original recipe. I exchanged the water for soymilk, adding 1 Tbsp vinegar to the soymilk. I also added 1 Tbsp sugar, the grated rind of a lemon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. My batter was a little runny, so I sprinkled in about a Tbsp or so more of cornmeal. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This pancake was easy to make, but it was the worst tasting pancake I ever ate. I threw the remaining batter away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These were very flat, tasteless pancakes. I subbed ordinary dairy milk for the soy milk and ended up adding 1/3 cup of sugar once I tasted the first one and that helped, but I won't be making these again . these just caught my attention as I thought they would be a little like a pancake version of Nigella's blueberry cornmeal muffins - they absolutely were not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I loved them. I cook for a few vegans and they loved the pancakes. So easy to make. The pancakes tasted just like buckwheat. Wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good basic recipe! I add a little touch of honey and use vanilla soy milk. I have also added a little bit of orange extract to them which makes them out of this world. My kids love them! I use frozen blueberries and chop them up a little so they aren't lumpy. I've made these dozens of times, and they are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherene4572

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
If you like buckwheat pancakes, you will enjoy the firm and excellent taste of these pancakes. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very filling breakfast. I made a few changes. Scaled the recipe for 3 servings, didn't use any oil, used light vanilla soy milk, added a mashed very ripe banana, 1 cup blueberries, added vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little splenda for baking, and served with syrup warmed with cinnamon & nutmeg. YUM! Thanks for a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Used almond milk instead of soy milk and cream of wheat instead of the cornmeal. I like that the cream of wheat gave it some texture. I was the only one who ate these. It made enough for me to freeze some for later. I also used frozen blueberrie, and they worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
they were o.k. lack a little in taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I skip the blueberries and use these as a base for a more savoury breakfast. They are quite good. You can sub part of the ww flour for white and get a poofier pancake. My preschooler loves them too (maple syrup and fruit on his portion, mushrooms and onions on ours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States