Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe as is, I agree with others, it is tasteless and flat! To make them yummy, this is what I changed....combine milk/soy, water, veg oil and cornmeal then set that aside! This will make the cornmeal softer :) Combine the rest of the ingredients plus 1/8 to 1/4 cup of brown sugar depending how sweet you would like them. You can also add a 1/2 tsp vanilla if you want to use less sugar. You need some sweetness with cornmeal, that's what makes is good! Now take your wet mixture that you set aside and beat in one egg! That is what is going to make them fluffy :) Add the wet to the dry mixture, mix until it is all combined and scoop into your hot pan. That's it!! I like to leave out the blueberries and heat them up in the microwave to make a type of compote and add it on top. They are also sooo good if you add a couple of slices of banana while cooking! The bananas soften and almost caramelize :) We just finished some and we all, including my 1.5 and picky 3 year olds loved them! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I substituted half and half for the soy milk, used unbleached all purpose flour and added 2 tablespoons of sugar to make up for the lack of sweetness from the soy milk. It was a great success. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved these pancakes. I especially liked that it didn't require eggs. Great for those times one realizes that there are none in the refrigerator and I have an allergy to egg yolks. I added banana & pecans. TASTY! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I love these pancakes! They have become a weekend staple in our house. I use almond milk, and up the ratio of cornmeal to flour (cornmeal scoops are heaping and flour is scant) Being a former vegan/vegetarian - this is the best! I've also found that using a spray for the griddle (instead of oil) keeps the pancakes from getting that "first pancake" look and density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I enjoyed making this recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour, so I substituted all purpose flour and I don't think it made a huge difference in over all effect. Everyone who ate them liked them. I think you could use any fruit in them and they would be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
After I read the reviews this is what I incorporated. I added some vanilla extract and some honey to the wet ingredients. I did not have whole wheat flour so I used regular flour and regular cornmeal. I also did not fold in the fruit. I topped them with fresh strawberries and syrup. They were not too sweet and were filling. Don't expect them to be really fluffy and airy. We are not vegans but this is a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These were very flat, tasteless pancakes. I subbed ordinary dairy milk for the soy milk and ended up adding 1/3 cup of sugar once I tasted the first one and that helped, but I won't be making these again . these just caught my attention as I thought they would be a little like a pancake version of Nigella's blueberry cornmeal muffins - they absolutely were not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Fantastic recipe! My husband and I discovered blueberry cornmeal pancakes on a trip to Santa Fe. Everytime we make these, it takes us back to that special weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Could be my mistake, but I can't imagine them turning out much better. My suggestion would be to beat them with a blender before letting it sit to get some air trapped in the batter. Maybe use some kind of egg replacer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States