Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I had been looking for a blueberry cornmeal muffin recipe that would be as good as the one I had at an upscale hotel and this one is even better! I have made these many, many times now and have played around with the recipe too. Don't bother changing any of the ingredients, these are perfect and best tasting just the way the recipe is written. My husband has been the "judge" of all of my variations (using whole wheat flour, less sugar, etc...) and he has said the original is definitely the winner. I did take the advice of other reivewers and add a bit more brown sugar to the batter and since I love the crunch that the cornmeal provides I do add a bit more that the recipe calls for. I use fresh blueberries so no need to coat with flour. These are also so simple to mix up that you can make them in the morning for breakfast and have amazing tasting and hot muffins from the oven for breakfast. I have found that these are best eaten on the same day as baking. They don't stay fresh that long which is not a problem as they never make it past a day in our house anyway. I highly recommend making these muffins, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made these with my son and we did one batch with blueberries and one with chopped up fresh strawberries. The strawberry ones were more popular but both were good. I did add more brown sugar 3/4 a cup. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the wet however. I found them a bit crumbly to get out of the pan even when i waited the 10 minutes but i also added more like 2 cups of fruit to each bunch so they were moister. Very good though! and freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
these were very good! I love the cornmeal texture and taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were very good. I think a change in proportions could send them over the top. I plan to make them again with a little more milk (they were a tad dry), a little less butter (a touch too greasy, and I don't need the fat) and either more blueberries or more brown sugar to make them sweeter. Still, this is a very tasty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I love making them for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These are very good. I tried to recreate a muffin served by a local coffee shop. This version hits the spot. I like them because they're not too sweet, and the berries (I used a mix of frozen blueberries, raspberries and blackberries) give it the sweetness it needs. For a touch more sweetness, it would be good to sprinkle coarse sugar over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.madison
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was my first time making muffins that didn't come out of a package and it's a real easy recipe and the muffins are awesome. They have a great moist buttery flavor and a nice little crunch from the cornmeal. My husband's really picky when it comes to muffins and he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Simply wonderful! Loved the cornmeal. We went with the 3/4 cup suggestion. No other changes... It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie King Pitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were very yummy and dredging the blueberries was definitely needed (which I did). I also followed the other reviewers' advice to increase the cornmeal to 3/4 of a cup. I replaced the wheat flour with a gluten-free mixture and it worked well. I also used oil instead of the melted butter and I used rice milk instead of cow's milk (which I made into "rice buttermilk" by adding vinegar). They turned out quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Love blueberries and love the cornmeal. It didn't have that oomph but very enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSkylar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States