Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I took these to a communal meal, and EVERYONE raved about them. I had two dozen, and didn't take a single one home! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These muffins are very tasty! When I saw the ingredients, I thought it had way too much baking powder. But I followed the recipe because nobody seemed to be complaining about it when I looked through the reviews. Then I actually didn't taste of baking powder at all! It just made the muffins very fluffy (fluffier than muffins I usually make though). I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour. I also added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed to make them a little bit healthier. It was good that I took some reviwers advice; dredge the blueberries separately first, then fold them at the end, after you mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients. My muffins turned to be beautiful (can you see my posted pics?) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I absolutely loved these! I just finished making them and had two with butter spread on them. They are definitely a treat, and just the additon of the cornmeal makes for a completely different taste. I baked them for 18 minutes and let them sit 10, as the directions stated, and they came out perfect! The only thing I might do differently next time I make them is save 1/4 cup of flour to dredge the berries seperately, and fold them in at the end, because this time all the batter turned blue instead of golden yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent. I started the recipe and realized, I had no milk in the fridge. I remembered I had powdered buttermilk and used it adding 4tbsp of it to the dry ingredients and 1 cup of water to the wet ingredients . I used frozen blueberries in this recipe. Before I added the wet ingredients to the dry. I took about 1/2 cup of the dry ingredients and used them to 'flour' the frozen blueberries. I added the 'floured blueberries as the last ingredient and just folded them in. They held their shape nicely. I put this in a 12x7 pan and baked. These didn't stay around long. I will make these again and again. Note: I have made these several times and everyone gobbles them up. Just before the holidays I made these using white cornmeal they tasted just as good bu esthetically they were not as pleasing to the eye. I'll stick with yellow cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These are SO good, I would shout it from the rooftops! I made 6 jumbo muffins and the only changes I made were to increase the amount of cornmeal to 3/4 cup, use low fat buttermilk instead of milk and margarine for butter. Because of the size of the muffin pan, I baked for 25 minutes. They look like those huge muffins you get at the bakery. Mmm... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Outstanding! Great texture with the corn meal and a yummy sweetness with the blueberries. Will make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I'm not really sure what to think of theese muffins. They do taste pretty good. I think next time I will not put the blueberries in until I've allready mixed the wet and dry ingridients. My muffins looked kind of blue. Also, 1 cupof blueberries was too much for me in this particular recipy. I might try them again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Great muffins! I used half spelt flour & half white. I sprinkled a light layer of white sugar on the tops before putting the muffin tin in the oven, and I'm glad I did because it added a nice sweetness to a muffin that isn't overly sweet itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I can't rave enough about this recipe!!! It is absolutely fabulous. I have made it over and over all throughout blueberry season. I prefer these with one mashed banana added (but that's just me.) I also like 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries. This makes three mini loaves. (I like them so well as loaves that I've never made them as "muffins".) I cook them an extra 5 minutes, and they come out perfectly. The flavor is delicious and the texture with the cornmeal is so unique! The most recent time I made this, I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour, and I also did 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. I didn't notice any change in the flavor or consistency, and I'm glad that I can make them a little bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
It seems to be under baked if you keep them in the oven for only 20 mins. I kept them in there for an extra 10 mins after I turned off the oven. They turned out to be delicious, but not the greatest looking muffins.... My husband loves them. ATE 3 immediately out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States