Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ant Ris
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Super recipe, great balance of flavors! Also found the cooking time a bit tricky as I like my muffins well browned. Would likely cook at 350 for 15 mins then increase to 375 for 10 minutes. Added a few cranberries and 2 tablespoons honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ant Ris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Just made this recipe on the spur of the moment since we are snowed in in Buffalo NY. They are delicious! Very moist, and not overly sweet. My kids are thrilled, and my husband thinks I'm awesome. Happy campers all around. Now, if only the muffins could help us dig out.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I am a new cook , and found this to be very easy , and by following the recipe very closely I was able to make them exactly the way they should be . My Lady friend who is a picky eater loved them . Please do not be upset with folks that give poor ratings after changing the whole thing and ending up with a predictable mess . They probably consider themselves experts . I used the flex pans , and found them to really help . Thanks again . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. This is mildly sweet and be sure to avoid adding too much liquid because the frozen blueberries add plenty more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I'm vegan, so I made some small changes in this recipe. I used ener-g egg replacer instead of egg, earth balance buttery sticks instead of butter, and unsweetened oat milk for the milk. I used slightly more than one cup of fresh blueberries. These were fantastic! If you're looking for a slightly less sweet muffin with that cornbread crunch on the edges, this is it. We ate them all in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Deliciously moist, with a little crunch. My house of 5 had the whole dozen eaten within an hour. Next time I will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These muffins pair perfectly with the Quick Black Bean Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pagettgirl
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
If you like cornbread these are for you. Next time I'll add more blueberries just cause I really like blueberries but these were fantastic straight from the oven with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Wow. I tried these because I have too many blueberries & "the boy" likes cornbread. I was a little nervous about it being "cornbread with blueberries" - not so interesting - but it isn't "cornbread with blueberries"! It's lighter (cupcake-ish) & yum! I doubled the recipe. I subbed half cup whole wheat flour, since I'm a sneaky mom, & fresh blueberries. Two cups is the perfect amount of blueberries, btw. I reduced the butter to 3/4c without any problems - may even try 2/3c next time. 'Think I'll try less sugar, too; but the full amount isn't insane. It's just me, not you. :D I was anxious over them being so full, but they didn't overflow or even stick to the pan. How cool is that?!? Thanks, Shelley! Oh, & done in exactly 20 minutes! Yay! ... Three days later: 'Still love 'em & they don't have sticky tops! Woo-hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except for substituting canola oil for the butter (I had run out). I used frozen berries. The muffins had a pleasant crisp top, were moist inside, and kept well for the 2 days I could keep them in the house. It was a loose batter and I was skeptical, but they turned out great. They did need more than 20 minutes - I baked for 28 minutes and they were perfect. The cornmeal taste was not very pronounced, perhaps because I used very fine ground cornmeal. Still a nice change from regular blueberry muffins. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States