Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Simply wonderful! Loved the cornmeal. We went with the 3/4 cup suggestion. No other changes... It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie King Pitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were very yummy and dredging the blueberries was definitely needed (which I did). I also followed the other reviewers' advice to increase the cornmeal to 3/4 of a cup. I replaced the wheat flour with a gluten-free mixture and it worked well. I also used oil instead of the melted butter and I used rice milk instead of cow's milk (which I made into "rice buttermilk" by adding vinegar). They turned out quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Love blueberries and love the cornmeal. It didn't have that oomph but very enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSkylar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My whole family loved these! I went with the suggestion to use more blueberries and it was well worth it! I have made these a couple of times already and there are never leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These were tasty. They were very light,not dense and not to sweet. I ate three in one sitting. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I have been baking for 30 years and I thought this recipe was awesome! I did change a few things to make it sugar-free. I omitted the brown sugar and used 1/3 cup of Sue Bee Honey and I teaspoon of Stevia powder. I also used unsalted butter, but added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also used 1 3/4 cup of frozen blueberries that I had bought fresh at the supermarket and froze myself. The muffins still came out super sweet with a little bit of crunchy sweet edges. They tasted just like they were made with real sugar. The texture was also super nice. We ate them as soon as they came out of the oven, no need to wait for them to cool. They did not need any extra butter to put on them when they were done. You could serve these to royalty! Thanks for the great recipe! P.S. I am sure they are great following the recipe exactly. :-) I came back to say that after reading all the reviews, most of them say the muffins were not sweet enough using the original recipe. My muffins came out perfectly sweet, somewhere inbetween a muffin and a cupcake. The muffins did not grow much either, but they did look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are totally awesome! I didn't change a single thing in the recipe...no, really! LOL And that's rare for me. Perfectly light and delicious just as they are. My husband was very skeptical of corn muffins with his favorite fruit in them but I immediately had to make a second batch (originally only made 12.) Do make these! You'll love them! :D On edit: I did change one tiny thing. I forgot until I went to make the second batch. I swapped out 1 cup of whole fat plain yogurt for the milk and added 2 TBS. milk to moisten up just a tad more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made these recently and they came out great. I used canola oil and followed the advice to dredge the blueberries. That worked out very well. I also added some flax seed too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Quite a good little recipe! Some quick mods I've developed over the 5 or so times I've made these:... 1)used buttermilk instead of plain milk... 2)reduce butter by 1/3... 3)in additon to blueberries, I added chopped frozen raspberries... 4)used whole wheat for half of the flour... They always turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I took these to a communal meal, and EVERYONE raved about them. I had two dozen, and didn't take a single one home! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States