Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My whole family loved these! I went with the suggestion to use more blueberries and it was well worth it! I have made these a couple of times already and there are never leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These were tasty. They were very light,not dense and not to sweet. I ate three in one sitting. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I have been baking for 30 years and I thought this recipe was awesome! I did change a few things to make it sugar-free. I omitted the brown sugar and used 1/3 cup of Sue Bee Honey and I teaspoon of Stevia powder. I also used unsalted butter, but added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also used 1 3/4 cup of frozen blueberries that I had bought fresh at the supermarket and froze myself. The muffins still came out super sweet with a little bit of crunchy sweet edges. They tasted just like they were made with real sugar. The texture was also super nice. We ate them as soon as they came out of the oven, no need to wait for them to cool. They did not need any extra butter to put on them when they were done. You could serve these to royalty! Thanks for the great recipe! P.S. I am sure they are great following the recipe exactly. :-) I came back to say that after reading all the reviews, most of them say the muffins were not sweet enough using the original recipe. My muffins came out perfectly sweet, somewhere inbetween a muffin and a cupcake. The muffins did not grow much either, but they did look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are totally awesome! I didn't change a single thing in the recipe...no, really! LOL And that's rare for me. Perfectly light and delicious just as they are. My husband was very skeptical of corn muffins with his favorite fruit in them but I immediately had to make a second batch (originally only made 12.) Do make these! You'll love them! :D On edit: I did change one tiny thing. I forgot until I went to make the second batch. I swapped out 1 cup of whole fat plain yogurt for the milk and added 2 TBS. milk to moisten up just a tad more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made these recently and they came out great. I used canola oil and followed the advice to dredge the blueberries. That worked out very well. I also added some flax seed too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Quite a good little recipe! Some quick mods I've developed over the 5 or so times I've made these:... 1)used buttermilk instead of plain milk... 2)reduce butter by 1/3... 3)in additon to blueberries, I added chopped frozen raspberries... 4)used whole wheat for half of the flour... They always turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I took these to a communal meal, and EVERYONE raved about them. I had two dozen, and didn't take a single one home! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These muffins are very tasty! When I saw the ingredients, I thought it had way too much baking powder. But I followed the recipe because nobody seemed to be complaining about it when I looked through the reviews. Then I actually didn't taste of baking powder at all! It just made the muffins very fluffy (fluffier than muffins I usually make though). I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour. I also added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed to make them a little bit healthier. It was good that I took some reviwers advice; dredge the blueberries separately first, then fold them at the end, after you mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients. My muffins turned to be beautiful (can you see my posted pics?) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I absolutely loved these! I just finished making them and had two with butter spread on them. They are definitely a treat, and just the additon of the cornmeal makes for a completely different taste. I baked them for 18 minutes and let them sit 10, as the directions stated, and they came out perfect! The only thing I might do differently next time I make them is save 1/4 cup of flour to dredge the berries seperately, and fold them in at the end, because this time all the batter turned blue instead of golden yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent. I started the recipe and realized, I had no milk in the fridge. I remembered I had powdered buttermilk and used it adding 4tbsp of it to the dry ingredients and 1 cup of water to the wet ingredients . I used frozen blueberries in this recipe. Before I added the wet ingredients to the dry. I took about 1/2 cup of the dry ingredients and used them to 'flour' the frozen blueberries. I added the 'floured blueberries as the last ingredient and just folded them in. They held their shape nicely. I put this in a 12x7 pan and baked. These didn't stay around long. I will make these again and again. Note: I have made these several times and everyone gobbles them up. Just before the holidays I made these using white cornmeal they tasted just as good bu esthetically they were not as pleasing to the eye. I'll stick with yellow cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States