Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Wonderful coffee cake with great topping! I made one slight alteration by substiting 2 tsp. vanilla for an equivalent quantity of the milk. I did notice that it took more like an hour to finish rather than 45 minutes, but that may just be my oven. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Great recipe! This is a good-not too sweet(very moist at 350 for 42 minutes) cake with a crunchy topping and generous amount of blueberries. Very pretty in my glass cake keeper(I like that it took a springform pan as it was pretty enough to serve to company) It was easy to make and dissappeared quickly even though I forgot to add the cinnamon. I'm not sure I'll add it next time either! My husband loved it with milk on it and I had a hard time keeping him away from it. A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was a delicious cake!! I would have added a touch more sugar though.. I decreased the blueberries to 1 cup and I didn't put pecans on it... I hate peacans..... Great job Donean:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I made this for my family tonight, and we loved it. I substituted walnuts for the pecans, because we were out of pecans. The batter was very thick, which was nice because I did not have to worry about it leaking out of the springform pan, though it did make it harder to spread evenly. I had to use a rubber spatula to get it spread out. I also used frozen blueberries, simply because we had them on hand, and did not thaw them before adding them in. Worked perfectly. My family polished off 3/4 of this cake in 10 minutes. My younger brother said that it would be better without the blueberries, but this was as he was vaccuming down his third piece, so he can't have minded too much. Will defenetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was even a hit with some who don't care for blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ephraim, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This is a very nice coffee cake, with lots of blueberries. I've made the recipe a couple of times and have found that the nuts are nice but not necessary, and that the dough is quick thick (like soft cookie dough). Throwing in a bit of cardamom is nice, as is a bit of lemon juice. Frozen berries are easier to mix into the cake, as they don't burst as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I made this for the girls at work and it was a hit. The pecan topping was wonderful! It made the house smell great. However I ended up adding 1/4 cup more milk. After adding the blueberries the batter really thickened, almost like a paste. I added the milk and because I had to put it thru the mixer again it did burst open some berries (I use fresh frozen)It still baked up nicely. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coal City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
this cake turned out so good - everyone had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
WOW! So easy, so yummy. I can't believe I just ate a whole cake. I am going to make more and more and more. I used frozen blueberries (And a few raspberries too), and I don't know what a springform pan is so I just used a 9" round pan I have. Did I say YUM? YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I was looking for a simple recipe to use all the fresh blueberries I had sitting in my fridge. I almost decided on that Blueberry Buckle stuff except when I went to read all the "five-star" reviews I saw that everyone had their two cents...less flour..more flour..less baking soda...not enough sugar...ETCETCETC. I ended up trying this one...made NO changes...and it was wonderful. Great pecan cinnamon topping that really just sets it off. And it's sooooo easy! I too made it in a round 9" cake pan. The whole family loved it. Thanks Donean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States