Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was a big hit at my house. I added the extra milk upping it to 3/4 cup and added the tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring. The batter was really thick and gooey but it cooked nicely. My husband said make that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K.Downing
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I used the suggestions and added 3/4 cup of milk, 2 tsp of vanilla. To give it that something extra I also used the zest and juice of one lemon in the cake mixture. Once the cake cooled I made a lemon glaze. For the glaze use 2/3 cups confectioners' sugar, sifted, zest and juice of one lemon, and 1 tsp. of milk. Mix well and drizzle on top of the coffee cake. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Downing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok, so this turned out delicious, aside from my own stupidity... I used a frozen berry mix (strawberries and blueberries) and added them to the batter before they had thawed... so the cake was in the oven for over an hour, finally passed the toothpick test, smelled awesome, beautifully golden brown on the outside... and magically completely raw on the inside :( My boyfriend and I are eating it regardless because it tastes amazing besides the doughy texture :) I also added the extra milk and almond extract modifications as suggested, and my apartment does smell incredible right now. NEXT TIME, I'll use fresh berries instead of frozen.. again, my mistake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good coffee cake with wonderful topping. I used real butter and 2% milk. I also tossed in 1/2 cup of greek yogurt because people recommended more milk, and because I had it, double the pecans in the topping. I did not add or alter any other items and the result got high marks from the diners, though it was a little dry the second day. I appreciate a recipe that is "forgiving" and will make this just as described in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I baked it in a dark bundt pan at 325 for 43 minutes and it was just right. I followed the recipe exactly as is (for once!) and it turned out very yummy. Some people may want it a little sweeter but it was the perfect sweetness as a breakfast cake. I should've definitely added a little more milk to make it easier to add it to the pan. I layered some of the crumb mixture at the bottom, in between and some at the top of the cake batter. I didn't measure the blueberries but just used a small clamshell. I'd say it was very good but I'd still like to try out some more of the coffee cake recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
it came out pretty good but very dry. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Really easy, and I thought this was good. Pretty basic; the topping really makes it, so if you want to skip it, you might need to add some more flavor to the dough itself. I used frozen berries and didn't really bother to do anything with them; the only thing that changed was that they sunk a little but not too far to the bottom. Pretty yummy even without the pecans, which I have but was too lazy to chop. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Yummy! I took the suggestions of other reviewers - floured the berries before folding them in. Added vanilla and added 1/4 cup more of milk and didn't use the cinnamon in the topping. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This was really good! It is great as breakfast or a dessert. It was very easy to throw together last minute. I did up the milk as suggested by earlier reviews to 3/4 cups. I did not use pecans since my family does not like nuts. In addition I cooked in a pie plate. I think it took longer to cook due to the additional milk and the frozen berries which I tossed in flour prior to incorporating. This recipe seems like it would be a good base to incorporate alternate fruits in as well. It may need a tad bit more sweetness in the bread itself but the topping does add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've been baking for my husband throughout our 20 year marriage. He says this is the best thing I have ever baked. Used toasted walnuts instead of pecans and added about 1/2 cup oatmeal to crumb topping to give it more substance. Lasts for a week if you keep in fridge; just pop in microwave for 15 seconds before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States