Blueberry Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Made this last night, it was so easy and came out great. I used canned blueberries (drained). I also added some vanilla extract. Following a users suggestion, I increased the recipe by 1.5 (instead of 2C flour, 3C,etc) and made it in a 9x13 pan. Glad I did :-) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
tried this this morning, took advice of others, added a smidge more oil, tsp of cinnamon, 1/3 c. banilla yogurt, 1 tsp of vanilla and replaced sugar for topping with brown sugar.....FANTABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
cake was drier than I would had liked. Topping just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I liked the ease of this recipe but the cake portion was a bit bland. I will make this again and I believe I will add a bit of vanilla extract. I doubled the crumb recipe, added about 1/2 cup of oats and subbed brown sugar for the white. I had big beautiful blueberries in my freezer and they were perfect. I also made it in a springform pan. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Epping, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I needed to use some blueberries I had in the freezer. This was easy and good. My husband did have me add a little thin frosting on the top and he liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe... made it this morning for my Husbands (adult) children whom came for lunch... they raved over it... and for living in England where everyone loves to put cream or custard on everything sweet... it was humbling to know they did not request either. My Stepson told me that it is a must for repeat performances... I followed recipe to the letter, with a minor exception of making a bit extra crumble for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was very good! I used cold butter not softened butter and used a pastry blender to mix the topping, came out great! I also used a whole pint of blueberries. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Great recipe! How do I know?! This did not last in my house more than two days. I caught my husband eating this cake over the cake container without a plate (ya, I know, what a pig!) I did add a little more flour to the topping because I wanted it to be a little more crumbley (is that a word?) but that is the only change I made. I did use frozen blueberries only because if I left them in full view in the fridge they wouldn't be there for me to make this cake! So I hoarded them in the freezer just for this recipe. Excellent recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this into muffins but as I did not have milk I substituted vanilla yogurt. Wow...awesome substitution which made it a very moist delicious muffin. The only reason I did not give it a full five stars was the crumb topping.....something with the ratio of butter to flour to sugar just didn't turn into crumb for me...it ended up being a melted sugary goo which made all my muffin tops ooze together. It did eventually harden after I left the muffins in the oven for about ten minutes longer than required. I think the next batch I will use less butter and more flour and sugar to get it to "crumb" like it's supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Thanks to Zipity and blueberries on sale (buy one get one free)! This is great and I froze the extra blueberries for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States