Blueberry Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This is a good recipe. I'm not a fan of blueberries so I used cranberries instead. Because cranberries are not as sweet, I added 1/2 cup applesauce to the batter. This cut the tartness and fixed whatever thickness issues the others had becuase the batter was just fine. I put a layer of topping in the middle as well as on the top. My family enjoyed it and I'll use the recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is a great coffee cake! My husband loves it. The first time I made it, it rose pretty high and was a bit dry. Now I only use 1.5 cups of flour for the coffee cake and for the topping I add a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
i've been thinking about making blueberry coffee cake for a couple of weeks, just for fun on a rainy sunday morning. found this one, read good reviews, but it was just okay for us. no one raved. the cake itself didn't have enough flavor, though the topping was yummy. i think i'll try another one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This coffee cake is superb. It was a bit too sweet for my taste, but my family adored it. Its great for the morning or evening. I will definetely be making this cake again when friends come over. I found the top crumbs to be too sweet compared to the rest of the cake, so in the future I will use less of that. Still - it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was good, but a little dry. The batter is very thick - next time I'll double the milk. The strudel topping is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Divine! I made it for a breakfast meeting with my colleagues and it went over very well. I only had triple berry blend on hand (raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries) but that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Wonderful with blackberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This will be a favorite. It was easy and passed the family's taste test. I'm really picky about what I use my fresh blueberries in since I wait all year for them. This is worth parting with a cupful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Quick, easy & delicious! I epecially like how it only requires a cup of blueberries and all the other ingredients you usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This cake is not very sweet @ all. It is delicious however when you add the topping. Considering the cake was meant to be eaten with the topping, I think it is superb. Very happy I could replicate something like this @ home. Unlike others, I did not find this cake dry. I did add 3oz applesauc to avoid that though. Sprinkled blueberries b/w cake batter rather thaan stirring in. Bumped cinnamon up to 1 tsp. Also, surprisingly light for a such a thick batter! Sweetness of cake alone is my only fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States