Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was good, but I made the following modifications: (1) I halved the streusel topping (and there was still some left over), (2) I used 3/4 cup milk because I thought the batter looked too dry - depends on how you like your coffee cake I suppose, (3) I used 1 1/2 cups blueberries and folded them into the batter before spreading into baking dish, (4) I spread half the batter in the dish and then sprinkled some streusel topping in the middle, then put the remaining batter on top and covered in streusel, (5) I used a 9x13 glass baking dish, baked it at 325 for about 25 mins (until golden brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was comparing blueberry cake recipes and noticed that this recipe is exactly the same as a blueberry muffin recipe I received in a baking class I took at a culinary school. There were only 2 differences. One, this recipe is half the recipe we made. The second is that all the ingredients were cut in half except the flour. The class recipe called for 3 cups of flour. Here it calls for 2 cups instead of 1 1/2 cups. That is probably the reason people are saying it's dry--too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I followed others' suggestions and used 3/4 c. buttermilk instead of 1/2 c. milk and increased the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups. I also sprinkled some of the streusel over the blueberry layer and made it in a springform pan. It was delicious! I took it to a garden club event. Everyone gave it rave reviews, and a customer offered to buy half of it from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe as it was written and this coffee cake turned out only average. I don't think you should rate a recipe 5 stars if you had to make changes to get it there. That's just saying the original recipe wasn't worth 5 stars in the first place, and all those reviews about changing this or changing that were completely confusing. I think I would rather find a blueberry muffin or cake recipe that is worth 5 stars on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This cake was a big hit with my picky husband and 9 year old son!! I've also brought it to work and to church, and people always ask for the recipe. I followed previous suggestions: increased milk to 3/4 cup, used a 9" springform pan, and put half of the topping on top of the fruit layer. Instead of fresh berries, I used a 15 oz. can of Oregon blueberries (drained) which works really well. Alternately, a can of drained peaches tossed with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and some sugar also tastes great. I find that the cake tastes best when warm, so zapping it in the microwave the next day for a few seconds does the trick :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I read all the wonderful reviews about this recipe and tried it this morning to take to my son's little league game to share with the moms. OH MY GOSH! WONDERFUL! I used canola oil in place of the butter in the recipe batter and it turned out wonderful and moist! I also used 3/4 cup of milk like others had said, and put some streusel in the middle with the berries too. My friends devoured it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KYLEM
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good! Did take reviewers suggestions...3/4 cup of milk, 2 eggs, 9" springform pan, Half the topping and 2 cups of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I made this using 1 cup of milk and I pressed the brown sugar mixture into the bottom of a tube pan and it made a nice topping when I flipped the pan over! The cake was moist and delicious! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
AMAZING!!!!!! Firstly I screwed up b/c I baked it in a 9 by 13 pan and misjudged the measurements - I thought 1.5 times the recipe woudl be sufficient but it wasn't - next time i'll try double the recipe. Also I used canned peaches sliced thinnly instead of blueberries :) I did put half the streudel in the middle - so then there wasn't enough on top - so the top layer came out swirled with the cake batter. My friend had some and said it is his FAVORITE out of everything I have ever baked including cheesecakes, cookies, cakes, pies!!!!!!! (I bake a lot - have made maybe 50 different things from this website :) But keep in mind that's b/c he doesn't like overly sweet desserts, chocolate, and adores cinnamon and peaches :) Also I made it low fat and low cholestrol by using "I can't believe it's not butter in place of butter, fat free milk and eggbeaters :) (b/c all my friends are complaining i'm making them fat with all my baking) and it turned out so well...i think it just gives it a lighter cake - not as dense and rich :) A definitely must try if you love fruit desserts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
delicious recipe...everyone loved it...it stuck really bad to my bundt pan...am going to try it in a 9X13 next time...easy to make and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States