Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this for the first time today and it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I agree with the one reviewer who suggested not using more milk because doing so would make this too "cake-like". Coffee cake is supposed to be dense in texture,and this is after all, a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I prepared the recipe exactly as written, with mixed results. First of all, there was so much streusel topping that the top of the cake was completely sealed into the pan. I used a butter knife to chisel it out. Also, the blueberries stuck to the side of the baking pan as well. I decided to remove the cake piece by piece. I brought the slices to our church coffee gathering this morning, where it received rave reviews. I recommend greasing your bundt pan with something more effective than spray, adding 3/4 cup milk instead of 1/2, and halving the topping. It is a good tasting recipe, once you get it out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Buttermilk make the baking powder work better! And i used one cup buttermilk, than it was delicious! It was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
could use more blueberries throughout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
added the zest of a lemon to the batter and replaced the streusel with a lemon glaze made from lemon juice & powdered sugar, upped the blueberries to 1.5 C. & Followed some of the modifications of others and used an extra egg yolk (had them in the fridge) and then reduced the flour to 1.5 cups. I also subbed soy milk because we no longer drink dairy. Good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Schumann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made this because I had a lot of fresh blueberries I wanted to use up before they went bad, making only a few changes. I added oatmeal (~1/4 cup) and walnuts (~ 1/4 cup) to the topping and upped the milk to 3/4 cup as others suggested. Baked it for 35 minutes in a 9 X 13 baking dish. Results?: AWESOME! Very much like the To Die for Blueberry Muffins on this site, the kids loved it which is a plus and great for breakfast or a snack. Reheating in the microwave is a must as this was best warm. Definitely adding this to the usual suspects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I make this in a regular 9x13 pan and put half of the topping in the middle right after the blueberries. This is so so good. Works well with whole wheat flour, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a big hit with my entire family. The recipe is a keeper in our recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was EXCELLENT!! Followed the recipe exactly. I was a little concerned when the batter was more like dough than batter, but pressed on and it came out perfect. A keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Followed the recipe as is and it is amazing! The only thing different I am doing the next time is adding 1 extra cup of blueberries and reducing the topping by half! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetElaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States