Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a pretty good coffee cake recipe. Made this w/ my nieces Sat. morning. When my sister & her family come to town (usually a few times a yr.), my 2 nieces stay w/ me 1 night. We try to make breakfast if we have time (and I can get them out of bed b4 noon - lol!). While I think this is good, it needs a bit of tweaking to make it great IMHO. First, as many reviewers warned, there is WAAAY too much streusel topping. I suggest quartering the amt. (I still think 1/2 would be overkill...). And, as many others did, we used a 9 in. springform pan greased w/ Crisco baking spray (i.e. the kind w/ flour in it). We also folded fresh blueberries (1 1/2 c.) into our batter rather than making a layer of them & used 1 1/2 c. flour / 3/4 c. milk. We layered 1/2 of the batter, followed by 1/2 of the streusel mix., the rest of the batter & the remaining topping. I think the batter could use some fresh lemon zest (it complements blueberry quick breads nicely) and I will be sure to add it if I make this again. I was surprised that my cake didn't rise like DetectiveL's did (her pic looks so nice... and yummy!)... oh well :) I am anxious to try To Die For Blueberry Muffins by Colleen b4 giving this another go. My bf did mention that both girls really liked this (I was taking a shower while they ate it), so it wasn't THAT bad, I guess.... Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this for Mother's Day and all the moms loved it. I used 3/4cup of milk and I mixed some berries into the mixture and then but the rest in the middle with the stressel. I will continue to use this and may even try cherries and blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
So, I wanted to make this and realized I stupidly forgot blueberries. So I used some Cherries and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was amazing! I took some previous suggestions and raised the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. It did need it. Other than that, I made it as is and was very happy with it. I think next time I might add more blueberries to the mix because I really liked the way they baked into it. I didn't think this was too sweet at all. It tasted just how I personally remember coffee cakes that my mother and grandmother made growing up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very Tasty! I followed some others advice and mixed the blueberries into the batter. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
this was really good. My only suggestion, is to let it cool completely before you flip it on to a plate, otherwise, it will fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made this cake with a bundt pan and the presentation was beautiful. Because the icing was plentiful, I put about half on the bottom of the cake before cooking, and then heated up the rest and added it to the top of the cake after it had cooled. i then placed blueberries in the cake center's hole and all around the cake on a beautiful cake dish. I gave this to my mom for Mother's Day and she loved it! The taste was excellent, the blueberries a great compliment to the cake, and presented beautifully! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
mmmm! the best!! i used 2 eggs, 3/4 cup milk, and 2 cups of frozen blueberries. this is one i'll definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as written. The cake was good, the crumb topping was not so good. Too hard/crunchy. Might try again but will tweak crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yummy!!! Was a huge hit for Mother's Day brunch. Followed recipe exactly except for increasing milk to 3/4 cup and added some streusel to middle with blueberries. Came out very moist and perfectly sweet! Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummiestogo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States