Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made, especially on the simple side. I have been married for 44 yrs and raised 3 sons and 9 GC so that is a lot of cakes to cook. I think any way that you choose to make it look it is still the wonderful cake that the recipe calls for. Thank you for a great addition to my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made it tonight. I ended up adding some chopped walnuts and quick oats to the topping because I thought mine was going to be too wet. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Can't give this recipe all 5 stars because I took the very much needed changes that everyone else has done. It turned out fabulou. I was very impressed. Its quite rewarding to create something better than what starbucks sells! There is quite a bit of topping so I do suggest taking half of it and putting it in the middle with the berries, and I dont like the idea of folding the berries into the batter as I was going for the starbucks look and they only have it in the middle and on the top under the struesel. Wonderful will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this. I did what some of the other's said to do and added some topping mix to he middle. I just moved so winning all my neighbors over by giving out baked good and yummy treats. But I really enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a pretty good coffee cake recipe. Made this w/ my nieces Sat. morning. When my sister & her family come to town (usually a few times a yr.), my 2 nieces stay w/ me 1 night. We try to make breakfast if we have time (and I can get them out of bed b4 noon - lol!). While I think this is good, it needs a bit of tweaking to make it great IMHO. First, as many reviewers warned, there is WAAAY too much streusel topping. I suggest quartering the amt. (I still think 1/2 would be overkill...). And, as many others did, we used a 9 in. springform pan greased w/ Crisco baking spray (i.e. the kind w/ flour in it). We also folded fresh blueberries (1 1/2 c.) into our batter rather than making a layer of them & used 1 1/2 c. flour / 3/4 c. milk. We layered 1/2 of the batter, followed by 1/2 of the streusel mix., the rest of the batter & the remaining topping. I think the batter could use some fresh lemon zest (it complements blueberry quick breads nicely) and I will be sure to add it if I make this again. I was surprised that my cake didn't rise like DetectiveL's did (her pic looks so nice... and yummy!)... oh well :) I am anxious to try To Die For Blueberry Muffins by Colleen b4 giving this another go. My bf did mention that both girls really liked this (I was taking a shower while they ate it), so it wasn't THAT bad, I guess.... Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this for Mother's Day and all the moms loved it. I used 3/4cup of milk and I mixed some berries into the mixture and then but the rest in the middle with the stressel. I will continue to use this and may even try cherries and blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
So, I wanted to make this and realized I stupidly forgot blueberries. So I used some Cherries and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was amazing! I took some previous suggestions and raised the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. It did need it. Other than that, I made it as is and was very happy with it. I think next time I might add more blueberries to the mix because I really liked the way they baked into it. I didn't think this was too sweet at all. It tasted just how I personally remember coffee cakes that my mother and grandmother made growing up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very Tasty! I followed some others advice and mixed the blueberries into the batter. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
this was really good. My only suggestion, is to let it cool completely before you flip it on to a plate, otherwise, it will fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States