Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was good, but I made the following modifications: (1) I halved the streusel topping (and there was still some left over), (2) I used 3/4 cup milk because I thought the batter looked too dry - depends on how you like your coffee cake I suppose, (3) I used 1 1/2 cups blueberries and folded them into the batter before spreading into baking dish, (4) I spread half the batter in the dish and then sprinkled some streusel topping in the middle, then put the remaining batter on top and covered in streusel, (5) I used a 9x13 glass baking dish, baked it at 325 for about 25 mins (until golden brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was comparing blueberry cake recipes and noticed that this recipe is exactly the same as a blueberry muffin recipe I received in a baking class I took at a culinary school. There were only 2 differences. One, this recipe is half the recipe we made. The second is that all the ingredients were cut in half except the flour. The class recipe called for 3 cups of flour. Here it calls for 2 cups instead of 1 1/2 cups. That is probably the reason people are saying it's dry--too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I followed others' suggestions and used 3/4 c. buttermilk instead of 1/2 c. milk and increased the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups. I also sprinkled some of the streusel over the blueberry layer and made it in a springform pan. It was delicious! I took it to a garden club event. Everyone gave it rave reviews, and a customer offered to buy half of it from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe as it was written and this coffee cake turned out only average. I don't think you should rate a recipe 5 stars if you had to make changes to get it there. That's just saying the original recipe wasn't worth 5 stars in the first place, and all those reviews about changing this or changing that were completely confusing. I think I would rather find a blueberry muffin or cake recipe that is worth 5 stars on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This cake was a big hit with my picky husband and 9 year old son!! I've also brought it to work and to church, and people always ask for the recipe. I followed previous suggestions: increased milk to 3/4 cup, used a 9" springform pan, and put half of the topping on top of the fruit layer. Instead of fresh berries, I used a 15 oz. can of Oregon blueberries (drained) which works really well. Alternately, a can of drained peaches tossed with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and some sugar also tastes great. I find that the cake tastes best when warm, so zapping it in the microwave the next day for a few seconds does the trick :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I read all the wonderful reviews about this recipe and tried it this morning to take to my son's little league game to share with the moms. OH MY GOSH! WONDERFUL! I used canola oil in place of the butter in the recipe batter and it turned out wonderful and moist! I also used 3/4 cup of milk like others had said, and put some streusel in the middle with the berries too. My friends devoured it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KYLEM
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good! Did take reviewers suggestions...3/4 cup of milk, 2 eggs, 9" springform pan, Half the topping and 2 cups of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I made this using 1 cup of milk and I pressed the brown sugar mixture into the bottom of a tube pan and it made a nice topping when I flipped the pan over! The cake was moist and delicious! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
AMAZING!!!!!! Firstly I screwed up b/c I baked it in a 9 by 13 pan and misjudged the measurements - I thought 1.5 times the recipe woudl be sufficient but it wasn't - next time i'll try double the recipe. Also I used canned peaches sliced thinnly instead of blueberries :) I did put half the streudel in the middle - so then there wasn't enough on top - so the top layer came out swirled with the cake batter. My friend had some and said it is his FAVORITE out of everything I have ever baked including cheesecakes, cookies, cakes, pies!!!!!!! (I bake a lot - have made maybe 50 different things from this website :) But keep in mind that's b/c he doesn't like overly sweet desserts, chocolate, and adores cinnamon and peaches :) Also I made it low fat and low cholestrol by using "I can't believe it's not butter in place of butter, fat free milk and eggbeaters :) (b/c all my friends are complaining i'm making them fat with all my baking) and it turned out so well...i think it just gives it a lighter cake - not as dense and rich :) A definitely must try if you love fruit desserts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
delicious recipe...everyone loved it...it stuck really bad to my bundt pan...am going to try it in a 9X13 next time...easy to make and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States