Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
really good !! made it with 1/2 cup more milk and 2cups blueberries in round cooking stone pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
super delicious! and easy to make too, I put streusel on the top and the bottom, it was great, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!! I made some of the changes that other reviewers suggested....2 cups of blueberries (instead of 1 cup) and 3/4 cups of milk (instead of 1/2 cup). Dredge your blueberries in flour and fold into batter before adding to pan. I also drizzle a lemon glaze (mix together 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 tablespoon water) on top of cake after it has cooled. I have made this twice in the last week and it turned out perfect both times. This is good for a breakfast or dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
As I was mixing the batter, my husband and son stole my fresh blueberries. I didn't have the heart to take it back from them since fresh are better for you than cooked (and it's winter out), so I improvised and chopped up 2 granny smith apples and added a bit of cinnamon to the batter. VERY good cake, even without the crumble on top! UPDATE July4,2011 - I had made this cake several times before now, but had forgotten whether I followed the original directions the previous times, or whether I had increased the milk to 3/4 cup as suggested by most reviewers. I decided to wing it and increase the milk. Well, that made it clear to me that the previous times I followed the original directions, which provided a more dense and rich cake, which is what a crumb/coffee cake should be like (in my opinion). While the lighter/fluffier texture is still delicious, it is more like a cake. Delicious either way, but when making the crumb, I will make sure to use the 1/2 cup milk, and when omitting it, I will make sure to increase the milk for a lighter and more cakey consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
What a wonderful, easy to make treat. I made the suggested changes. 3/4 of milk & I folded the blueberries in just before baking and I only made 1/2 the streusel topping (which was plenty) I am really impressed at how easy it was. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Boyfriend brought home 2 lbs of Concord grapes to juice yesterday, and we decided to make something out of the leftover juiceless grape mash. We baked them into this coffee cake (in place of the blueberries) and it was AMAZING! We used 2T of butter in the streusel topping (next time we'll use more, but still not 1/2 cup), used probably 2 cups of grape pulp in the middle, and used almond milk in the batter (that's all we had), and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Based on the original recipe, I gave it 3 stars. Good flavor but no wow factor. Bundt pan seems too big for volume of cake. All streusel (which was way too much) on the bottom of a bundt seems odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Okay, I've made this coffee cake 3 times, and I think I have it just right now. The streusel (as written in the recipe) seems to actually be the right amount, it's just that it works so much better to use half that streusel to cover the blueberry layer--that really brings out the flavor in your berries. Also, I think increasing the milk in the batter makes it too cake-y. Coffee cake shouldn't be moist. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My fiance said that this was "my ultimate favorite dessert". I made it in a 13x9 pan. I want to make a few changes next time...fresh, not frozen blueberries, and I want to double the batter and put the blueberries all in a layer in between the batters. May put half the streusel on between the layers and then drizzle with a vanilla glaze. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great Recipe! The cake turned out very moist and soft , (but not falling apart soft). Made half of original recipe for streusel topping. Used buttermilk instead of milk. Made with frozen berries. ( add 5-7 min more to bake). Smells beautiful and tastes Great! Thank you very much Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States