Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The taste was great. However, the topping sunk and made the cake weak in the center. Therefore, the cake crumbled as I tried to get it out of the pan. I bake all the time, and haven't had this happen before. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Very good. Like other reviewers suggested, I increased the milk to 3/4 cup and put half of the topping mix with the blueberry layer. I also added a glaze made with conf. sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Wow. I've made this about a dozen times now and I've had nothing but good reviews. I did replace the milk with buttermilk though, and I was careful to dredge my frozen berries in some flour and then add to my batter, put it into the oven very quick. No problems with purple cake. As well, I never used the streusel, this cake turns out quite well without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I followed the suggestion of adding 3/4 C milk and cutting down the amount of topping. I also used nonfat milk and egg substitute, and I added the topping in between layers. Baked in a bundt pan and it came out moist and delicious. I didn't even need a dusting of sugar. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I put this in a 9 X 13 worked great. This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed and it is one of the best.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
i tried this cake and it sort of felt like it was missing a glaze, correct me if im wrong. if you have a glaze you tried on please share **.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this for a group of adults at a childs party - it was delicious and received rave reviews. I added some extra milk to avoid dryness, and mixed in frozen bluberries. I baked in a bundt pan and when I turned it over to serve, the bottom crumble remained cruchy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Ive been making this for about a year now. I did make a couple changes thouugh, based on others reviews. 1. I halved the struesel 2. I decreased the flour to 1 1/2 cups and 3. I used 2 cups of blueberries. This is one of my families favorite desserts and there is NEVER any left the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Simply delicious! Topping came out excellent. Cake was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I substituted sour cream instead of milk, and ended up adding about another 1/3 c of milk to make the batter a cake-like consistency. I also added another half of a cup of blueberries. next time i will def half the amount of topping, i think it was overpowering. Overall a pretty good coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States