Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Made this for my sister's birthday. Both her and our mother agreed that this recipe should be chiseled into metal to protect it for the ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yum, Yum, Yum. I did make a few changes, however. I used a 9 inch springform pan instead of a bundt pan. I used about an extra 1/4 cup of milk as I feel the batter is just too thick otherwise. I used frozen blueberries both times I've made this and it works just fine. I sprinkled half the struessel mix on the blueberries before topping with the second half of the batter and then the rest of the struessel mix. I didn't use the confectioners' sugar at all. We served this slightly warm with vanilla ice cream. Made a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Would give this recipte 4 1/2 stars, but don't know how to click on half star. Also used 3/4 cup of milk and added 1 tsp. almond extract. Used frozed blueberries, (rolled on paper towel to absorb frost) then tossed with 1 tbsp. flour before adding mixture to Bundt pan. Lovely flavour. Served to company and they raved about recipe too. Definately a keeper! Thanks for sharing. Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Delicious! I've made this several times and gotten rave reviews. I follow recipe exactly except I use half the crumble (that's plenty) and bake in a rectangular pan. It's a fabulous way to use fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this at brunch. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
really good !! made it with 1/2 cup more milk and 2cups blueberries in round cooking stone pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
super delicious! and easy to make too, I put streusel on the top and the bottom, it was great, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!! I made some of the changes that other reviewers suggested....2 cups of blueberries (instead of 1 cup) and 3/4 cups of milk (instead of 1/2 cup). Dredge your blueberries in flour and fold into batter before adding to pan. I also drizzle a lemon glaze (mix together 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 tablespoon water) on top of cake after it has cooled. I have made this twice in the last week and it turned out perfect both times. This is good for a breakfast or dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
As I was mixing the batter, my husband and son stole my fresh blueberries. I didn't have the heart to take it back from them since fresh are better for you than cooked (and it's winter out), so I improvised and chopped up 2 granny smith apples and added a bit of cinnamon to the batter. VERY good cake, even without the crumble on top! UPDATE July4,2011 - I had made this cake several times before now, but had forgotten whether I followed the original directions the previous times, or whether I had increased the milk to 3/4 cup as suggested by most reviewers. I decided to wing it and increase the milk. Well, that made it clear to me that the previous times I followed the original directions, which provided a more dense and rich cake, which is what a crumb/coffee cake should be like (in my opinion). While the lighter/fluffier texture is still delicious, it is more like a cake. Delicious either way, but when making the crumb, I will make sure to use the 1/2 cup milk, and when omitting it, I will make sure to increase the milk for a lighter and more cakey consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
What a wonderful, easy to make treat. I made the suggested changes. 3/4 of milk & I folded the blueberries in just before baking and I only made 1/2 the streusel topping (which was plenty) I am really impressed at how easy it was. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States