Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe gets better each time I make it. I made it for a party this weekend. There were tons of other desserts and this one vanished before I even got a piece. I made it in a silicone pan that was a flower design and just looking at it made your mouth water not to mention the smell when I removed the lid. It is so good now that blueberries are in season. I did use 3/4 cup milk and put the blueberries in the batter and layered the batter and topping. Five stars does not give it the credit it deserves. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was VERY good. My only complaint was that it SHOULD NOT be baked in a bundt pan. It was very hard to get out and when I finally did get it out, some was still left in the pan. Very pleasing to the mouth but not the eyes considering the top half was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was just OK for me. The crumb topping (which was really the bottom) made it way too sweet. I will try a different blueberry cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
You must double this recipe if you are using a bundt pan, or you won't have enough batter. We substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour. Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
awesome, I did do one thing different, I cooked it in a 9x9 pan, it took a little longer to bake, but it was perfect, I made the second time and cut the topping in half and it still was awesome! not as sweet, which is better, this is a moist coffee cake, delicious...... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very moist and delicious. I wanted a lot of cake bars, so I cooked it in a 9x11. I added half the batter on the bottom, sprinkled half of the crumble, sprinkled out the 1 cup of blueberries, covered with the rest of the dough, and then the remaining crumble. I baked for about 40 minutes. Moist, sweet, and the inner crumble layer added a gooey layer that on its own would be reminiscent of cinnamon buns. The crumble was not your traditional crumble, but a soft dough that was hard to "sprinkle". After about baking 15 minutes, I took a spoon and swirled the dough and the melted gooey "crumble." Easy to make and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I have made this cake a couple of different times. It is great, my family loves it. However the last time I didn't have blueberries, but I did have a can of peach pie filling. Wow! It was super, I put it in the middle just like you do the blueberries. The cake was gone in one day along with lots of request to make it again. It wasn't as pretty as the blueberries, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made, especially on the simple side. I have been married for 44 yrs and raised 3 sons and 9 GC so that is a lot of cakes to cook. I think any way that you choose to make it look it is still the wonderful cake that the recipe calls for. Thank you for a great addition to my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made it tonight. I ended up adding some chopped walnuts and quick oats to the topping because I thought mine was going to be too wet. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Can't give this recipe all 5 stars because I took the very much needed changes that everyone else has done. It turned out fabulou. I was very impressed. Its quite rewarding to create something better than what starbucks sells! There is quite a bit of topping so I do suggest taking half of it and putting it in the middle with the berries, and I dont like the idea of folding the berries into the batter as I was going for the starbucks look and they only have it in the middle and on the top under the struesel. Wonderful will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States