Blueberry Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I just made this cake and after reading reviews, came up with a quick fix for the topping sticking to the pan so that the streusel winds up on the top of the cake. I just ripped a 4 inch wide piece of parchment paper into about 3 inch strips and sprayed first the bundt pan, then layed the strips in; slightly overlapping, then sprayed the strips again. The cake didn't seep under the strips and the streusel carmelized beautifully. I also used a teaspoon of almond extract and a half teaspoon of vanilla and it tasted and smelled wonderful. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I followed someones advise to put the cumb on the bottome of the pan, it stuck and it wouldnt let go when I tried to flip it out. It was very good, but next time I will put it on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very good. Only thing I changed was to add a tablespoon on lemon juice to the cake batter. And I halves the streusel mixture, because that seemed like too much and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Didn't alter the recipe at all. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Like others, I increased the milk to 3/4 cup, baked in a springform pan, and sprinkled half of the topping over the berries before covering with the remaining batter. Delicious and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I tried this one and it's very delicious!! I had to make some more the next day. I doubled the recipe and used the regular pyrex cake pan 10"X15"for the double recipe, but I only use one recipe for the topping though. I took some to church and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wow - This cake is just so good :D I made this for my husband to take to work, but glad that I pinched a slice... I am not a big fan of blueberries but even I enjoyed this, the cake was so light and fluffy, just loved the crunch of the streusel topping, added a great contrast. I did make an extra half measure of the streusel which I sprinkled over the blueberries before adding the next layer of batter. Will certainly use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved it. Made a number of substitutions - mostly for organic alternatives. Flour for whole-grain organic spelt, sugar for Sucanat (using 3/4 of original amount). Butter and egg organic too. Used 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries, mixing some in the mix, and using the rest as a middle layer. Agree there's too much crumbly topping. And agree that the topping is lovely halfway through. Next time I'll make a third of it, and will again layer it. Even with whole-grain spelt substituted, in one-for-one ratio to white flour, it was still amazingly moist and delicious. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Yummy! I couldn't even let it cool before I cut into it. It is delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Fell apart. Not that great. I guess I'd rahter make blueberry muffins and put the streusal on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States