Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
One of the best pies ever, and I give it 5 stars on flavor, but cut WAY back on the cinnamon. I added 1 cup raspberries, 1-1/2 cups blueberries, and 1 can sour pie cherries(approx 1-1/2 cups). Instead of lemon juice I used 1/4 tsp almond flavoring and 1 tsp vanilla. One DASH of cinnamon. I would give this recipe a 5 except it called for more cinnamon than I like. Try it with the raspberries--they add a rich, sweet-tart depth to the blueberries & cherries. Thank you for a great combination Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
GREAT pie! I used less sugar, way less cinnamin, 4 c. cherries and 1 c. blueberries. I could see how any more blueberries could easily takeover the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeta724
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I thought this tasted good, but like other reviewers I agree that it needs a little less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I used my own pie crust recipe, but made the filling exactly per the recipe. The cinnamon in this was overpowering, and didn't taste like it belonged w/ cherries and blueberries. The filling also felt gritty, like someone mixed sand in w/ fruit juice. Not even vanilla ice cream saved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I used 3 cups of blueberries and 3 cups of cherries and left everything else alone. Slightly deep-dish pie plate, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Dugan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was pretty good. I too, reduced the amount of cinnamon in this recipe. I had many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this pie today, and my husband told me it was the best pie I had ever made. Following the recommendations of others, I only used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon (1 T would have been WAY too much), and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract, which I use every time I make a cherry pie. I also used 1 cup of sugar, since I used fresh picked tart cherries. Yummy pie, great flavor, thanks for recommending the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I guess I should have read the reviews before I made the pie. It's berry pie...not cinnamon pie!!!! Lordy-be! Everyone modified it and THEN gave it 5 stars! They're really giving themselves 5 stars, because the recipe un-modified is WAY too cinnamon-ey. yikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This pie was absolutely delicious! We used fresh-picked tart cherries (3 cups) and blueberries (1 cup), and decreased the amount of cinnamon per other reviewers. My husband who doesn't even like pie at several pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This recipe is delicious!! I took the advice of others and only used 3/4 C sugar, 1/2 T of cinnamon, 3 Cups fresh cherries, 1 Cup fresh blueberries, and add 1 tsp of vanilla. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States