Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
READ BEFORE PREPARING PIE! We all like the idea of the cherry/blueberry combo - but it seems no one actually likes THIS recipe! A few pieces of advice - 1) less cinnamon! 2) If you are using TART cherries MAYBE the excess sugar is in order - but if using sweet cherries (or canned) then use less sugar (2/3 - 3/4 cup) Also - if using sweet then might want to counter some of the sweetness with extra lemon juice and even the zest. 3)If using frozen berries then account for the extra water/juice by increasing the amount of flour or adding a couple teaspoons of corn starch. Also - don't forget the butter on top - it will thicken the sauce and add a velvety texture. 4) It looks like some people cook down the filling - do that if you want more of a canned filling texture - I like the fresh berry texture better - but if you don't cook it down you might have to cook the pie longer to get the syrup thickened. 5)Lastly - I took some others advice and added vanilla and almond extract - I LOVE that combo with cherries! It seems we all love the IDEA of this pie - but no one is using the recipe! Maybe ALLRECIPES.Com should consider adding the "improved" recipe to their site! Good LUCK! PS - the article "can you bake a cherry pie" on this site has some GREAT advice for this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
For a simple crust try 2 cups of flour, a pinch of salt, and a cup of vegetable shortening and also a 1/2 cup of cold water. Mix together until thoroughly blended. Cut dough in half and roll into balls, wrap in wax paper and refridgerate for 4 hours or more. I used 1 lbs of cherries and exactly 12oz of large organic blueberries. For the Filling, instead of cinnamon, 3/4 tsp of almond extact really brings out the flavor of the of fruits. You could use flour in the filling but 3 tbls of corn starch is enough. Add a cup of sugar and a tbls of butter. that's all you need for the filling. Bring to a boil over medium heat stirring constantly . Once the mix has thickened and become translucent, let simmer for 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This pie is one of the best pie's I have ever made . My wife loved it along with the kids , She had me make another for Sunday Dinner down at her Mom and Dad's house and the in-laws loved it .. I plan on making this for the 4th of July
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
For my first attempt at making a pie other then Pumpkin my family really liked it. The recipe was very easy to follow and I even used frozen fruit that I had thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
i had a bag of fresh cherries that were about to go bad in the fridge, so in searching for a recipe for them, noticed the 50+ positive reviews for this pie. it is as the others say, delicious! i didn't make any changes to the recipe and it turned out perfect. made a 2nd the next day for a neighborhood potluck and the feedback was very enthusiastic. one neighbor actually said it was the best thing she had ever eaten. can't go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This turned out great, but I have to give it four stars due to my alterations. I used just 3/4 cups of sugar (still sweet enough) and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Using less cinnamon allowed all of the flavors to be tasted equally. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I thought this was delicious!! I used 3 cups of cherries and 1 cup of blueberries. I cut the sugar to 1 cup and the cinnamon to a little less than 1/2 teaspoon. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is by far the BEST cherry pie I have ever made! I have tried numerous time to make a sour cherry pie, but all have flopped (literally). This pie is better when it is cooled, but I was quite surprised at how well it cut (even warm). I save time by using the Pillsbury ready-made crusts (refrigerated); they have held up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. It had the perfect sweet/tart flavor. My husband was crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was pretty good. I reduced the amount of cinnamon and sugar and used vinalla and lemon juice. I will try this again , but without the cinnamon. I didn't like the cinnamon-fruit combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States