Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Like the recipe but I make a lot of modifications when I bake this. I add more fruit, 1/2 of the sugar, 1/2 of the cinnamon and bake for about 15-20 minutes longer...depending on how often my husband opens the oven to check the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is fantastic and easy. Like the others, I lowered the sugar content to 3/4 cup and the cinnamon to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp vanilla. I also changed it to 3 cups fresh cherries and 2 cups fresh blueberries. It comes out great, even without a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I made this pie to bring to my in-laws, after I "sampled" the first piece I begged them to let me take the leftovers home! It was the best pie I have ever made. I made a few adjustments as suggested by others, 3 cups cherries and 1 cup blueberries, 3/4 cup sugar and a smidge less cinnamon. I will definitely make this many more times! Thanks Deanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I left out the cinnamon, lemon juice, and butter, cut the sugar to 1/3 cup and used 2 cups canned cherries and 2 cups fresh blueberries. With these modifications, the pie was excellent, just sweet enough, and with a great balance of cherry and blueberry flavour. (Although I prefer the taste of fresh cherries, they can be a bit runny when baked, and also two cups of fresh cherries might have been overpowered by the blueberries, as other reviewers mentioned.) My husband said that this was the best pie he'd ever had in his life, and coming from him, that's really something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I have taken this pie to picnics, family gatherings and given it as a gift. It receives many compliments. I gave it as a gift to the hosts of a Christmas party and the husband said it was the best pie he has ever had. Thanks again for sharing this recipe. It will be used again and again. Just a note, I do add a tsp of vanilla to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I only put in 3/4 cups of sugar as others suggested but I felt it needed a little more. Not to mention cinnamon OVERKILL! Yuck. If I made this again I would only add one teaspoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This was a very good pie. I took another reviewer's advice and used 3 c cherries and 1 c blueberries, plus only 3/4 c of sugar. I thought a fruit pie should taste like the fruit and not be super sweet. It turned out nicely, but I thought that maybe there could be more fruit since it cooks down. This pie held together well when cut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was an excellent pie!!! I did end up cooking it longer that the recipe said, i cooked it for about 1hr 30 min, but i cooked in the bottom portion of the oven so the crust wouldn't burn. I also find that this helps the filling stay together better when cut. The only thing I will change next time I make it is that I will use 3 cups cherries and 1 cup blueberries. The blueberries kind of over powered the flavor of the cherries for me. Other than that, this was super easy!!! And I didn't find it a bit to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This recipe was quite good. I read the reviews and decided to use 3/4 cup of sugar, and I'm glad I did. Any more than that, and I can't imagine the pie would be edible. I used tart cherries, and the pie was still quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
It was ok. I cheated and used frozen blueberries and cherries. For some reason it was a bit runny. Would probably make a better cobbler. All in all not bad, works well with a scoop of vanilla ice cream (like most pies). I used a deep dish pie crust and it still bubbled over, next time I would use less filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States