Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Next time I'm doing this without cinnamon. I added a little almond extract and vanilla and used brown sugar instead of white which made the color gorgeous. I think the amount of cinnamon called for must be a typo. It's insane to add that much spice. However, I love the cherry/blueberry combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe was really great. The only changes I made was to cut down on the cinnamon. Even then, I felt like it was too much. I don't think I'll be using any cinnamon next time I make it. The only other change I made was that instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar, I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. We loved the consistency of this pie and will definitely make it again. It tastes great using frozen cherries and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I followed the recommendations of a couple of other reviews and made a couple of changes: 3 cups of cherries instead of 2, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1, and added 1 tsp. vanilla. It turned out great, except that it didn't setup very well (maybe it needed to cook longer?) and next time I think I'll leave the cinnamon out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made it by the original recipe except I added extra flour. I used all the cherries I had and added frozen blueberries to make up the total 4 cups. It never set up completely. It was still delcious over vanilla ice cream though! Not sure what I did wrong. But I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I Loved this took everyone's advice on cutting the Cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. I don't care for Cinnamon so I would of done that no matter what. But It was perfect not too tart or too sweet and was the perfect in between. I used frash cherries and frozen blueberries and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Marker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I make this for father's day every year from our orchard pickings. Always a hit for all the dad's in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodLovers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I cut the sugar, and used 3/4 splenda, and made a crumb topping with oatmeal instead of a double crust to save on calories. My diabetic family friend is quite pleased! It came out very well, though I added another half hour to the cooking time. I can't give it 5 stars since I fiddled with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I made the recipe as written and everyone LOVED it. THIS is a great pie. Used fresh sweet cherries and fresh blueberries. Did not find the cinammon to be overpowering at all. The pie set up beautifully; moist, but not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
READ BEFORE PREPARING PIE! We all like the idea of the cherry/blueberry combo - but it seems no one actually likes THIS recipe! A few pieces of advice - 1) less cinnamon! 2) If you are using TART cherries MAYBE the excess sugar is in order - but if using sweet cherries (or canned) then use less sugar (2/3 - 3/4 cup) Also - if using sweet then might want to counter some of the sweetness with extra lemon juice and even the zest. 3)If using frozen berries then account for the extra water/juice by increasing the amount of flour or adding a couple teaspoons of corn starch. Also - don't forget the butter on top - it will thicken the sauce and add a velvety texture. 4) It looks like some people cook down the filling - do that if you want more of a canned filling texture - I like the fresh berry texture better - but if you don't cook it down you might have to cook the pie longer to get the syrup thickened. 5)Lastly - I took some others advice and added vanilla and almond extract - I LOVE that combo with cherries! It seems we all love the IDEA of this pie - but no one is using the recipe! Maybe ALLRECIPES.Com should consider adding the "improved" recipe to their site! Good LUCK! PS - the article "can you bake a cherry pie" on this site has some GREAT advice for this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
For a simple crust try 2 cups of flour, a pinch of salt, and a cup of vegetable shortening and also a 1/2 cup of cold water. Mix together until thoroughly blended. Cut dough in half and roll into balls, wrap in wax paper and refridgerate for 4 hours or more. I used 1 lbs of cherries and exactly 12oz of large organic blueberries. For the Filling, instead of cinnamon, 3/4 tsp of almond extact really brings out the flavor of the of fruits. You could use flour in the filling but 3 tbls of corn starch is enough. Add a cup of sugar and a tbls of butter. that's all you need for the filling. Bring to a boil over medium heat stirring constantly . Once the mix has thickened and become translucent, let simmer for 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States