Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this recipe for work - it was moist and delicious. It makes quite a bit of cake too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I think this is a great coffee cake recipe. My kids said, "This is absolutely delicious!" I had a little leftover buttermilk after this recipe, so I made a little powdered sugar drizzle with the buttermilk to go over the top, but it really didn't need anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good basic recipe. Like the fact that most of the ingredients are staples. Topping is optional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My family really enjoyed this crumbcake. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I split this recipe into two 8" cakes, following the recipe for one and substituting honey for the sugar in the other. The honey cake was awesome. The sugar cake tasted a little flat to me and maybe had a little too much 'tang' from the buttermilk. Used the food processor to mix up the topping and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fabulous!!! Even my picky 11 yr old liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This coffee cake was a hit at our potluck brunch! MUCH better than most coffee cakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was moist but not worth making again or wasting blueberries. I wouldn't bother trying to fix it. I only fix recipes that start out good and this one didn't. It could be 2 stars but I only gave it one because of all of the 5 stars that modified it to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. Don't even think of not using real buttermilk! I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful. It's tempting to want to use brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping, but I used the white sugar as written and it was delcious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on the porch at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I typically cringe when I read reviews where the person has changed so many aspects I ask myself "why did this person review"? With that said, I did make this coffee cake only adding the zest of one lemon to the topping. This is a large coffee cake and without the added dimension of another flavor, the blueberries could have become repetitive and/or lost. But the basic recipe is good, you could also add a bit of orange zest to the topping too. But traditionally bakers do use lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States