Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great cake! I add cinnamon to the topping, doesn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I was excited to try this, but found it to be somewhat bland. I followed the recipe exactly (using local spray-free blueberries we had frozen this past summer). The frozen berries did not have a problem with sinking in the batter, the extra coldness made the batter extra thick and it helped them stay aloft. I made this in a 13x9 pan as recommended, and could not get the center fully baked, even after the outside started to get dry and crusty. It definitely took much longer than the 45-60 min to bake. Flavor wise, the part with the topping and any bites with blueberries were nice, but the cake itself was rather bland. If I were to make this again (I doubt that I would), I would add some spices and probably more berries as well. Or maybe swirl some of the crumb layer through the rest of the cake. As for the reviewer who halves the baking powder due to metallic taste, there is no metallic taste when you use a high quality aluminum-free baking soda. I use Hain featherweight (made with potato starch instead of corn, so we don't have to worry about gmos) and we never have to worry about that yucky metallic taste. I would highly recommend investing in aluminum-free baking powder. It is tastier and better for your health, since aluminum is a known neurotoxin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was my first coffee cake and it was simple to make and deeeeelicious!! I even made a few changes since blueberries weren't really in season. I added chocolate chips instead and added some cinnamon to the topping for some extra flavor. Moist, not too sweet, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipe as muffins and they were delicious. It made 12 jumbo sized muffins with a perfect amount of crumb topping. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
If u dust the blueberries lightly wit flour before adding to mixture, they won't sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
super rich and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Many things about this recipe that appeal to us and, for once, a cake that is not loaded with sugar but still tastes wonderful. Unfortunately, felt that it needed more flavoring hence lots of grated lemon rind (we love lemon). I definitely agree that there is absolutely no substitution for fresh buttermilk - for texture, taste and end result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had lots of fresh blueberries and exactly one cup of fresh buttermilk to use up so I came online in search of something to bake and found this wonderful recipe! I scaled this recipe in half for an 8X8 pan and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. In addition, I dusted the fresh blueberries with a little AP flour before gently folding it into the batter. I baked the cake for 60 minutes and it rose up perfectly. This coffeecake turned out terrific. The crumb topping is so tender and moist with a light "buttery" taste. The cake itself it also moist and delicious, but not overly sweet - just right! The coffeecake has a light, fluffy and delicate texture to it which I really like a lot! Most of the blueberries held up nicely in the cake, not sinking all the way to the bottom. This is very pretty when cut into squares showing the blueberries baked inside the cake. We all really enjoyed this! One of the best coffeecakes I've had in a long time. Next time I may even add some nuts to the crumb topping and bake the full recipe. This is definitely a recipe worth keeping for future use again! Thank you Bata for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Another fantastic recipe from this site! I had a lot of buttermilk to use up and picked this recipe since I had fresh blueberries in the freezer. I didn't make any changes to the cake mixture but did add a little cinnamon to the topping. The texture of the cake is so light and fluffy. All my blueberries sank to the bottom even though I tossed them in some of the flour mixture. It didn't matter though because it tastes great. I think this would be great with brown sugar and pecans in the topping too. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States