Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I cut it in half and it was delicious! I had everything on hand and it was super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I bring a baked treat in for my colleagues at work most Monday mornings. This week, this wonderful coffeecake was a huge hit, garnering me many compliments and expressions of appreciation. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I followed the suggestion of one reviewr and added a half-teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter (didn't add any to the crumb topping). The cake rose nicely in a 9X13 pan; I didnt detect any "off" taste from the chemical leavening. I used frozen blueberries, thawing them overnight. Dredging the (thawed) berries in a scoop of the flour was a bit messy, and most (but not all) of them ended up migrating toward the bottom of the cake, anyway. Not a big issue. Thanks, BATA, for a great recipe! I'll probably be making this coffeecake again, once fresh blueberries are at the farmers market. My public demands it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I found this dry and wished I had added more blueberries for moisture and flavor. The topping was odd and tasted like shortbread. I much prefer the recipe for Blueberry Buckle on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great texture. Had to alter due to not having butter on hand. 4 alterations, all worked we'll. Cake delicious. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour Used smart balance instead do butter Used smart balance, flax meal and oatmeal, along with flour and sugar in topping. Light and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I made this and used plain unsweetened yogurt in place of buttermilk since I had some that needed using and instead of topping in recipe I just sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. That saved a lot of calories and still tasted really good. I made the full recipe and baked in 8 x 8 and 9 x 9 inch pans. I froze one for later. Very good recipe that I will keep in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this today for the first time and I'm blown away by how good it is. I halved the recipe, except for the vanilla, but otherwise made it as directed. I don't write many reviews, but this is so amazing I feel like I have to sing its praises. It's not too sweet, perfectly moist, and the crumb is excellent. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yummy, moist and not super sweet. The crumble on top was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'd probably half this next time because it was so huge! I only needed 45 min for the 9x13. Used frozen blueberries and 1 C wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I had about a cup of leftover buttermilk that I wanted to use up before it expired, so I whipped up a half batch. Everyone in my family loved this. The frozen blueberries were perfect with it. I also added some lemon zest since other reviewers recommended it. I didn't measure how much, but it was a HUGE lemon, bigger than my fist, and I zested just over half of it. I wouldn't think to make it with peaches, since they're not a berry, but after reading the reviews, I'll probably try that next. The coffee cake was a tad bit on the denser side than I imagined it, but then again, I've never made anything with buttermilk before (except last weeks cookies) so I didn't really have any concrete expectations. I thought the topping was perfect and not too sweet. My mother, however, has no sweet tooth whatsoever (and is diabetic on top of that) and took the topping off her piece after tasting it, claiming it was too sweet. I will definitely be making this again. Super easy recipe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I though this tasted good, although I dont have a lot of experience with crumb cakes. I was kind of surprised with how dense the batter was that the actual cake was so soft. I found, I preferred this better the next day as the texture was more sturdy. Overall, this tasted like a mix between cake and a blueberry muffin to me. My favorite part was the fresh blueberries I had to use for it. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe and baking in my Nordicware 9x9 sized pan. It worked perfectly. I cut it into 12 muffin sized square pieces of cake. The serving size was plenty and it cut the calories in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States