Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This coffee cake was a hit at our potluck brunch! MUCH better than most coffee cakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was moist but not worth making again or wasting blueberries. I wouldn't bother trying to fix it. I only fix recipes that start out good and this one didn't. It could be 2 stars but I only gave it one because of all of the 5 stars that modified it to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. Don't even think of not using real buttermilk! I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful. It's tempting to want to use brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping, but I used the white sugar as written and it was delcious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on the porch at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I typically cringe when I read reviews where the person has changed so many aspects I ask myself "why did this person review"? With that said, I did make this coffee cake only adding the zest of one lemon to the topping. This is a large coffee cake and without the added dimension of another flavor, the blueberries could have become repetitive and/or lost. But the basic recipe is good, you could also add a bit of orange zest to the topping too. But traditionally bakers do use lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I added about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to both the cake's dry ingredients and to the crumble on top. I also substituted brown sugar for sugar in the topping. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. It took about an hour and came out moist, evenly baked, and absolutely delicious! Long live buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The cake was good but next time dont add the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very tasty! I made this using fresh strawberries instead of blueberries and it was devoured within a day or two! I definitely agree with other reviews, add brown sugar & cinnamon to crumb topping. Not a very sweet cake. Next time I make this, I may increase sugar to 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I've made this a few times since finding the recipe. Very yummy and easy cake! Won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So delicious, most, and flavorful! I halved the recipe and put into a 9inch springform pan sprayed with non-stick spray and parchment on the bottom. Took about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I'm finding this hard to rate because while it wasn't bad, it just wasn't what I had in mind in the slightest. The texture of the cake was wonderful and the crumb topping was what I was looking for, but the cake itself lacked flavor for me and what flavor there was in the berries seemed to be overshadowed by the buttermilk. My husband loved it, and ate practically the whole thing. Also, I pulled it out after 45 minutes and I wish I had taken it out AT LEAST 5 min early. It would have been better slightly underdone than over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States