Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Many things about this recipe that appeal to us and, for once, a cake that is not loaded with sugar but still tastes wonderful. Unfortunately, felt that it needed more flavoring hence lots of grated lemon rind (we love lemon). I definitely agree that there is absolutely no substitution for fresh buttermilk - for texture, taste and end result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had lots of fresh blueberries and exactly one cup of fresh buttermilk to use up so I came online in search of something to bake and found this wonderful recipe! I scaled this recipe in half for an 8X8 pan and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. In addition, I dusted the fresh blueberries with a little AP flour before gently folding it into the batter. I baked the cake for 60 minutes and it rose up perfectly. This coffeecake turned out terrific. The crumb topping is so tender and moist with a light "buttery" taste. The cake itself it also moist and delicious, but not overly sweet - just right! The coffeecake has a light, fluffy and delicate texture to it which I really like a lot! Most of the blueberries held up nicely in the cake, not sinking all the way to the bottom. This is very pretty when cut into squares showing the blueberries baked inside the cake. We all really enjoyed this! One of the best coffeecakes I've had in a long time. Next time I may even add some nuts to the crumb topping and bake the full recipe. This is definitely a recipe worth keeping for future use again! Thank you Bata for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Another fantastic recipe from this site! I had a lot of buttermilk to use up and picked this recipe since I had fresh blueberries in the freezer. I didn't make any changes to the cake mixture but did add a little cinnamon to the topping. The texture of the cake is so light and fluffy. All my blueberries sank to the bottom even though I tossed them in some of the flour mixture. It didn't matter though because it tastes great. I think this would be great with brown sugar and pecans in the topping too. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
7.31.11 Divine! :)'Was thinking I didn't like blueberry muffins or coffeecakes, etc-since I'd tried so many with only ok(to me)results-UNTIL NOW! Yu-uh-um!I made some minor changes out of necessity & reviews.Used 3/4c sugar&it was sweet enough.Used 3c blueberries.Blueberry bushes.:)'Didn't have buttermilk so I subbed plain nonfat yogurt.I had to add a little milk to it since I was short.It was a cup&a half plain nonfat yogurt&a half cup milk.'Used a 9.5x13.5 & it took an hour,five to ten minutes.Very good!Oh,as for the"blueberry issue."My batter was quite thick.'Thinking the yogurt is responsible.Some berries were on the bottom,but I think it was due to the pouring of the batter in the pan more than their actually sinking.I attempted to flour-coat them,but since they were dry it didn't stick.Sooo, with the batter being so thick,the flour trick may not be so necessary or just work on slightly damp berries. 2.1.12'Tried with brown sugar&2c berries. Surprisingly,at least for the brownsugarlovin'girlthatIam,not as good-& the extra cup from try1 isn't too much.Also,tried 'em as muffins,25-30 min.What pretty muffins!'Only did6& the rest in a pan.Watch 'em closely.Since you can't see the batter due to the topping,it's hard to see overbrowning.Still good though!OH, one more thing!I'm using frozen homegrown(sweet)blueberries.'Don't thaw 'em or you'll have purple batter&smushed berries! 11x14donein45.11x14 topg amt: 3/4c+2Tflour&sugar,1/2cbutter TRINA8/25/06review: crm chz filg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe. I subbed canola oil for the butter and left off the topping - for a delish, light, muffin-like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This turned out to be good and moist. I can understand why some thought it may be a bit bland...I think it could have used some more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I had no problems with my fresh blueberries sinking. It is very moist and a perfect coffee cake. It rose beautifully. The only reason I tried this recipe is because I had buttermilk I needed to use up and now I will have to buy buttermilk for this recipe alone! A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very nice! I made half this recipe in an 8” square baking pan and baked for 50 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, but I had intended to add some chopped pecans to the topping and forgot. I dusted my blueberries with flour before adding to the batter but most still sank to the bottom, but that could have been my berries, as some were pretty large. This was the perfect recipe to use up one cup of leftover buttermilk I had on hand. I’ll make this again with the pecans for a little added crunch and texture. Thanks for the recipe BATA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This coffee cake is moist and delicious. I used 2 cups of fresh raspberries, and as per other suggestions swapped brown sugar in the topping and added some cinnamon. MMMMMMM! So good I made another one for our neighbors with blueberries. With both cakes, I did have the problem with my berries sinking to the bottom. Overall, very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Went to bake this the night before Mother's Day. At 10:30 pm my oven decided to go out on me! I didn't have choice but to cover the dish and refrigerate it until the next day. I was worried if it would work or not since my blueberries were frozen when I added them to the mixture. I baked this 13 hours after I mixed it up....AND it was wonderful. Not a thing lost by refrigerating this so long. It was enjoyed by all and went nicely with the Denver Omelet Pie from this site. Thanks BATA for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States