Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good and moist. The buttermilk really changes the texture and keeps it from drying out. The only change I made was to use brown sugar instead of white and added some cinnamon to the streusel topping. I made a half recipe in an 8"x8" pan and used 3/4 of a recipe of the topping (we LOVE streusel!). My boyz loved it. Ate it for dessert last night and again for breakfast this morning. Thanks for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is very delicious. I followed this recipe to the letter, but this took over an hour and a half to bake! I used the recommended size pan, but next time I will bake in a different size pan, so it won't take so long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by Jim Barry
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Delish-us! :) Followed the recipe as shown, worked out great. A dense moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Good cake, but next time I'll add another cup of sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I substituted rhubarb for the blueberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I've never made a coffee cake before but wanted to try. I didn't have enough white sugar so I had to use Splenda but it still turned out nice and moist. I had one stick of butter for the dough but didn't have stick butter for the topping so I had to use country crock and splenda. Still made a nice topping but I think if I would have cut it with real butter instead, the topping would have been more crumbly. Overall though, great cake and the husband liked it so I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe!! It produces a classic coffee cake - the kind you don't see much of anymore. I kept the vanilla extract and zested one lemon into the flour mixture. Used Wyman frozen wild blueberries. When almost done alternating the flour and buttermilk into the batter, save a little bit of the flour mixture. Gently stir the blueberries in the remaining flour mixture and fold into the batter at the last step. Per other reviewers added 1 tsp. cinnamon into the streusal just to give it a little more "oomph." Took one hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I am now making this for the 2nd day in a row. I had started out with half a batch and everyone wanted more so I am making it again. The baking time was a little longer for me (about an hour) and I subbed almond extract for the vanilla and added a little cinnamon to the topping, otherwise I made as directed. I did try the trick of coating the blueberries with the flour and I didnt have any problem with sinking to the bottom. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this! Very moist from the buttermilk, and not too sweet. Great with a nice cup of coffee. I did add about 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the topping, just because. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I halved the recipe and put it in an 8X8 pan. It was good though I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States