Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I accidentally added the 1/4 cup butter to the shortening when I creamed it with the sugar. However, the only thing it did was lengthen the cooking time. The taste was still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This cake was so dry and dense. I absolutely could not eat it. Even though its packed with berries that could not save the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
When I was mixing the batter it seemed really dry so I thought it was going to be dense, but I was seriously wrong! It is so light and fluffy, perfect balance of sweetness and my boys described it as "the best dessert ever!" I agree and it would also be great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The end result turned out well, but the directions were a little misleading. For me, the batter was more of a dough, it wasn't pourable in the slightest. I mixed the berries as best as i could, and then just flattened it into my baking pan. After that i just put more berries on top and lightly pushed them into the batter. The crumble top also seemed to be a little less crumbly than anticipated, It was a little more soft and mushy then it was crumbly. All that said, the thing still tastes and looks great. I have no idea how a "buckle" should turn out, so I'm pleased with how it turned out. It did take a little over 30 minutes as well, and i moved it up a rack in the oven towards the end to brown the "crumble" topping. 4/5 for misleading directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Gladfelter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I am not sure what happened to mine but it was ok. Fit to eat but not what I was expecting. The batter was super thick so I added extra milk maybe 1/2 cup, I do not recommend that. Then it took about an hour to cook and it was very gooey. I think it would be very good had I followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved this! Baked exactly as written & delicious. It would also be good using vanilla & sour cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So good! Don't make it in a 8x8 pan. Make it in a 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I can't really review the recipe as is as I didn't even attempt to try it as written based on all the reviews, though my 3 star rating was based on the fact that the changes I made were great. I could see it being dry using 2 cups of flour, so I reduced it to 1 1/2 cups, I used butter in the whole recipe, no shortening, more flavour! I added 1 tsp vanilla for flavour too. And it was a must to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping. The result: a beautifully moist and flavourful cake with delicious berries and a delightful crispy topping. With above mentioned changes, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe! It sure made my kids happy. I used frozen blueberries thawed out, and that worked for us. Can't wait to make it again when I have fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great!! I was a little nervous with how thick the batter was but it cooked up just right!!! I have to say to everyone thinking of making this - please make it as stated and review it as so. It is not fair to change up the ingredients/amounts and then rate the recipe according to your changes. Rate it for what it is and THEN give your suggested changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States