Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made it just as the recipe said. However I added a little more milk ( 3 tablespoons at the most )the batter seemed a little thick. I also added brown sugar to the top of the crumble mixture because I wanted it sweet. I was surprised at how easy this recipe was. This is now my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with the only change made, being that I used butter instead of shortening as shortening is hard to come by in Europe. One of the other reviewers mentioned that this will not turn into a batter that you can really pour, but more into sort of a spoonable blob. That was valuable information as that is indeed the case. I may have added a little bit more milk than the required quantity to turn it an acceptable consistency. Spooned it into the pan and doused it with the sprinkle topping. Awesome. Also, don't worry if it doesn't reach all the corners of your pan. There is no need to use pressure or anything to get it to reach the corners. It will spread, once in the oven. Just make sure it roughly covers the bottom. I made the qunatity as is, and divided it into 8 big portions that were gone in seconds the last time I made it. It is one of my favourite blueberry recipes and the best topping I have come across so far. This one doesn't sink or melt or get all globby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was a very nice dessert. I had to cook it for an extra 20 minutes, even in my 9x9 pan. I used butter instead because we were out of shortening. I dredged the blueberries in flour, though I don't know if this was necessary since the batter is very thick. I used frozen wild blueberries. Were not a big dessert family, but I'll save this recipe for potlucks or for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very good and easy to make!!! I love the topping but next time I will add a little brown sugar and maybe find a way to slip some cream cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I made this with no modifications. Thought I must have left something out, it was so bad. Very dry, did not cook in the middle even tho I baked it 10 minutes longer, no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Well it was very good once I altered the recipe a little. I used 3/4 cup of milk and 1/2 tea. almond favoring. I baked it in a 9 by 13 glass pan. My husband couldn`t hardly wait for it to cool with the aroma of blueberries and almond in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made this with my gluten free flour and it was so delicious. Nobody even knew it was gluten free. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this yesterday. I substituted Splenda for sugar in the cake batter. I had to add more mild because the batter was more the consistency of cut pie dough. I baked this in an iron skillet. The flavor was very good but the consistency was like a fruit cake, very dense & heavy. I would prefer more of a coffee cake consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very good and easy recipe! Mixed up fast and turned out delicious. I also made this with frozen blueberries, thawed and drained- worked just as great. Topping worked out just as expected. Followed recipe just as written. Oh, one more thing, did have to bake about 8-10 min longer than called for in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is great. I did add an extra egg, but only because my eggs were very small. The batter is thick, but it comes out in a perfect consistency when cooked. I thought it was fabulous! Mine had to cook about 45 minutes at 350 to get done. I cooked it in a thick ceramic 8x8 pan. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina B in KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States