Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Tasted great and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just OK. The ratings of this recipe gave me high hopes, but I didn't think to read the reviews... everyone seems to be rating it based on a recipe they have made up themselves based loosely on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe was deeeeelicious! I will agree with some reviews - mine also took at least 15mins longer to cook than stated in the recipe, but as long as you keep an eye on it and don't let it cook too long, it turns out great. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So delicious! I added about 1/2 cup more blueberries because I tend to like more of a fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is more like a cake. I followed the recipe just as written. I didn't add applesauce instead of shorting or or use half the flour to cut calories. Another reviewer said that these are key components to the recipe and I agree. Adding a dash of cinnamon or vanilla is one thing, but the fat and gluten is something that has to stay. With that said, the cake was good - not great, but good. The blueberries did not fall to the bottom like some reviews had issues with. The cake itself has just the right amount of sweetness. If you take off the topping it would be much better. The topping was paste like and very sweet, not crumbly. I spread it over the cake anyway and when I had my first bite I took the topping off. Way to much sweetness for one cake. Also - the cooking time if off. It took my cake 45 minutes to complete baking, not the 30 as suggested. To sum up - bake the cake for 45 minutes and skip the topping. It will be much better. It's still a keeper. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have to agree with some of the other reviews. Using this recipe as is leads to a dry half cake/half muffin. Without the sugar topping it would be close to very plain/boring. We ended up adding ice cream (for breakfast). With some changes I'm sure it could be improved, but I don't expect to have to change a 4.5 star recipe with that many reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had 3 cups blueberries and based on other reviews I doubled the other ingredients except for sugar (used 1-1/3 cups) and added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I didn't have milk so used whole milk yogurt instead. Baked for an hour in a 9x13 pan; watched it carefully last 20 minutes I covered the edges with aluminum foil since they cooked faster than the center. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made several modifications as per other reviewers, and the results were still so-so. It tasted decent when it was warmed with some whipped topping on it, but when it was room temp, it had no appeal and was bland. I may or may not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This cake is very moist and has a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
It was very tasty. I did not want to sub anything but I ended up using buttermilk, insted of regilar milk, because I had it in the fridge. I also substituted 1/2 cup of blueberries with reaspberries. It came out like a coffee cake. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States