Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had 3 cups blueberries and based on other reviews I doubled the other ingredients except for sugar (used 1-1/3 cups) and added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I didn't have milk so used whole milk yogurt instead. Baked for an hour in a 9x13 pan; watched it carefully last 20 minutes I covered the edges with aluminum foil since they cooked faster than the center. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made several modifications as per other reviewers, and the results were still so-so. It tasted decent when it was warmed with some whipped topping on it, but when it was room temp, it had no appeal and was bland. I may or may not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This cake is very moist and has a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
It was very tasty. I did not want to sub anything but I ended up using buttermilk, insted of regilar milk, because I had it in the fridge. I also substituted 1/2 cup of blueberries with reaspberries. It came out like a coffee cake. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was great! I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and replaced the shortening with butter. I prepared the topping with a pastry blender, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe the only thing I did differently was switch the white sugar for brown sugar, I used the 2 cups of flour and had no problem blending it, patted it down in an 8x8 pan took about 40 mins to cook.I did find the cake a little drier than I would like. I didn't mix the blueberries but floured them then added on top of the batter and pushed in carefully so not to mush them..the fruit stayed on the top with the delicious topping and was very moist on top, so maybe I will cut back on the cooking time next try, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is comparable to blueberry muffins but in coffeecake form. I made this recipe today, and made the To Die For Blueberry Muffins from this site last weekend. Both good, but I'd probably return to the muffin recipe. Same exact premise: muffin-like cake with a streusel topping. We actually thought this recipe had a rather bland base. Not much flavor at all. I also struggled with the thick batter, until I added a splash more of milk. Then I was able to fold in the blueberries. Another glitch was the baking time. According to the time suggested in this recipe, it wasn't even close to being done. Getting brown along the edges at 25 mins but raw batter in the middle. I lowered the temp per others' suggestions to 350, and it took a total of 50 mins. Overall it's good, but the muffin recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow, both delicious to taste and stunning to look at. I followed the directions almost to the letter with fabulous results. The only thing I did different is that I found the dough to be too stiff to easily fold in blueberries and I thought if I tried, they'd breakdown in the process. So instead, I spread the batter in my baking dish and then put all the blueberries on top and then carefully pressed them into the cake batter. I then sprinkled on the topping as the recipe says and the outcome was this beautiful blueberry and crumb topping. The blueberries that came through the topping were bubbling. It was almost too beautiful to cut in to. Fabulous recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
The results were lovely but while mixing the ingredients I thought I must've made a mistake - it was such thick sticky dough! I could barely get the berries mixed in. I actually made the dough twice, convinced I mis-measured something first time around (I hadn't). It came out fine but I will trust other reviewers and decrease the flour amount a bit next time (it was a tad too dense). Might even add a few more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brookeeg
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious!! I made it just as the recipe instructs...it was a hit at the Mother's Day brunch. I will surely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States