Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I liked this. The cake itself is not too sweet (the topping is). It highlights blueberries well and has a really nice fluffy but still substantial texture. I did add a bit of vanilla, and used butter rather than shortening, but otherwise the only change I made was the baking time. Mine took over 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was surprisingly good for as simple as it is. Dense, flavorful and moist, I ended up sending the leftovers home with grandma, and she's the baker in the family... So I guess it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed some other recommendations and cut the flour to 1 1/2 cup of flour the first time I made this recipe, and used 1 tsp of vanilla. I also cream together the sugar and butter BEFORE adding in the egg. The second time I made it, I accidentally only put 1 cup of flour, and it still turned out amazing. I used BROWN sugar for the topping instead of white. I think it gives a better contrast to the light colored cake. I have only used fresh blueberries with this recipe. I use a 9 inch circular pan or glass dish. Each time I have made it, it takes about an hour of baking time. Maybe because of the size pan I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Bowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Perfect recipe. Simply delightful. I didn't happen to have shortening with me at the time so I substituted butter and found that it worked as well. Great flavor and perfect texture, moist yet not too dense. A favorite for sure. 5/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have been making this for years. I have the cook book it was in and the Copyright date is 1964. Good recipes stand the test of time! Don't change a thing and if you must then DO NOT RATE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Just made this with my 10 yr old homeschooled son for cooking class, it was great, lots of measuring and seperate bowls fof him to figure out what goes with what. I didnt change the recipe at all, it took 30 minutes to cook and cane out perfect! My husband is going to be psyched! Thanks All Recipes! God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The 25-30 minutes baking time was way under what it actually took. I did use my toaster oven but that shouldn't have made much difference. My baking time was closer to 50 minutes to get it completely cooked in the center. Once it was out, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This recipe was fantastic and loved by all who ate it--even adapted to be vegan (you couldn't tell)! It was light and fluffy and rich and delicious. Beware, it is a rather dense dough--my version felt like I was pressing cookie dough into a pan, but it still baked up like cake. Here are the recipe changes I made based on other reviews and also to make it vegan: 1. Reduce to 1.5 cups of flour 2. 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar for the topping 3. Replace egg with 1 Tbsp. ground flax seed mixed with 3 Tbsp. water (allow to sit for 5 min.) 4. Replace milk with coconut milk 5. Replace butter and shortening with coconut oil and just rub everything in with fingers 6. Added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract (if I did it again, I might reduce the almond to 1/2 tsp.) 7. Bake for 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tried this and turned out great. Coworkers loved it! I didn't make any substitutions or changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmine P
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! I needed to bake it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States